Skip to main content

Humanities and Social Sciences Resident Librarian: Home

This page will describe assistance available from the Humanities and Social Sciences Resident Librarian

Find Books

Find books in paper and electronic format, government documents, journals by title, and other reliable internet resources through the Library's Pilot search tool. Search it by clicking on the link below.

I-Search. IUP Libraries Discovery Tool

I-Search is IUP Libraries search tool that searches more than one database at a time. It is the search box on IUP Libraries web page.

Information Literacy Tutorials and Activities

Looking for tutorials and activities to teach or build information literacy skills? Look at the guide below for lots of possibilities.

Your Resident Librarian

Who is she?

Dr. Theresa McDevitt is the Humanities and Social Sciences Resident Librarian and she is here to help you!  She has an undergraduate degree in Anthropology, master's degrees in History, Education of the Deaf, and Library Science, and a PhD in American History. She has been a librarian at IUP since 1986 and has served as reference librarian,  government information librarian, archives and special collections librarian, and teaches LIBR 151 Introduction to Information Literacy most semesters.  She has been around so long, and had so many different jobs, it is likely that she can help you your information need. If not, she can probably direct you to someone who can.

What can she do for you?

·    Answer your questions about IUP Libraries spaces, resources, and services

·    Assist with specific reference inquiries

·    Help you get started in finding information whether through library databases, in paper, or freely available over the Internet.

·    Offer educational sessions for your student group or association

·    Visit classes to provide instruction or lead activities relating to doing research in the digital age and the use of library resources, services, and spaces.

·    Teach you (or a class or student organization group) how to use EndNote or other bibliographic management tools to help organize and cite resources.

·    Answer questions relating to academic success support services on campus. If she doesn't know she will find out.

·    Let you know about library events, contests, and other educational, interesting, and even fun things available at, or in conjunction with, the Library.

How can you contact her?

  • Her office is 110 Stapleton Library and she also works on the central reference desk. To be sure to find here there, it is  a good idea to call and schedule an appointment. Her number is 724-357-4892.  She is almost always available through email at mcdevitt@iup.edu.

Access to Scholarly and other Journal Resources

Find Access to millions of pages of online electronic resources though library databases. You can access the database page through the link below. Go to the Library YouTube channel to watch video tutorials on topics like "Finding the Full-Text of an Article, " or watch the linked tutorials to see what a scholarly journal is or what it means to for a journal to be peer-reviewed or refereed.

Find Other Specialist Librarians

IUP Libraries assigns specialist librarians to every IUP department and major.  Look through the listing below to find the specialist assigned to your department or major.

Subject Guide

Access Streaming Video Resources

The Library offers access to thousands of educational videos through the databases linked below.

Access to Library Databases from Off-Campus

Database providers charge IUP Libraries per user and insist that we only alows IUP affiliated individuals to access them. Consult the guide below for instructions on how to access library databases from off-campus.

IUP eJournals Portal