Skip to main content

Counseling Center Wednesday Workshops: Spring 2015 Wednesday Workshops

Library resource lists related to the different topics presented at the Counseling Center Wednesday Workshops.

Spring Counseling Center Schedule 2015

Spring 2015 Counseling Center Workshops.

Positively Sexy

  • Wednesday, February 11

  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60

  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

This workshop will be a safe space to look at sexuality from a sex positive perspective. Attendees are encouraged to consider what good sex is for them, in the context of consent, physical and emotional safety, and fun! Barriers to good sex will be discussed, as will opportunities and strategies to embrace one's sexuality in an authentic way.

Hosted by Camille Interligi, MA (c.j.interligi@iup.edu) and Joelle Bazaz, MA (j.a.bazaz@iup.edu)

Social Class: Let’s Talk About It

  • Wednesday, February 18

  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60

  •  4:30–5:30 p.m.**********

Description: TBA

Hosted by Chiao-Thong Yong, MA (c.yong2@iup.edu) and  Gabi Huffman, MA (g.c.huffman@iup.edu)

 Eating Disorders: Fact, Fiction, and Finding a Healthier Way

  • Wednesday, February 25

  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60

  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

Concerns about food, eating, and body image are familiar to many college students; however, there are also a lot of misconceptions about these issues. Come to this workshop to learn how to recognize disordered eating and break down some of the myths surrounding it. Information about healthy eating and how to reach out to someone who is struggling will also be reviewed.

Hosted by Emily Lazar, MA (e.k.lazar@iup.edu) and Abby Costello, MA (a.e.costello@iup.edu)

 “Bootyliscious?” Sexual Objectification in Today’s Music Culture

  • Wednesday, April 15

  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60

  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

Wondering how music shapes our attitudes about relationships, sex, and women? Join us for a discussion about lyrics to today’s most popular music and how it affects our perception of gender, the human body, and sex.

Hosted by Angelica Terepka, MA (a.terepka@iup.edu) and Kristin Faust, MA (k.l.faust@iup.edu)

Bystander Awareness

  • Wednesday, April 29

  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60

  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

Description: TBA

Hosted by Abby Costello, MA (a.e.costello@iup.edu) and  Jessica Miller, PsyD (jemiller@iup.edu)

Home for the Summer

  • Wednesday, May 6

  • CHWB/Suites on Maple East G 60

  • 5:00–6:00 p.m.

As the academic year comes to a close, many students have mixed feelings about spending the summer at home. The transition from college life to living at home can be stressful. If you think this might be true for you and/or your family members, come and learn about some of the ways that you might prepare for this change and manage the stress of straddling your life at college and your life at home.

Hosted by Peter Kozel, MA (p.kozel@iup.edu) and David Myers, PhD (dmyers@iup.edu)

For more information, contact the Counseling Center at 724-357-2621

Attendance Slips will be provided!