History 365 Guide to Library Resources: Home

• Begin searching (re(searching) for background
• Actually READ some authoritative sources
  • books
  • journal articles
  • authoritative web sites
• Get a list of keywords to search under using names, times, locations, events
• Search newspaper databases and search engines

• Digital Microfilm (Includes New York Times (2008-present),
  Wall Street Journal(2008-present), and Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (2009-present),
  for the last few years

• Newspaper Source 
  articles from 143 US and international newspapers. This database is updated daily

• Newsstand
  full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world.

Proquest Digital Newspaper Search Guide

EBSCO Database Searching Users Guide

EBSCO ebooks 

JSTOR Advanced Searching Tips

Searching Google Newspaper Archive

• America: History and Life America: History & Life with Full Text (http://proxy-iup.klnpa.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=31h) is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history

• JSTOR (http://proxy-iup.klnpa.org/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/)  Online archives of over 500 journals in African-American Studies and History

• Academic Search Complete (http://proxy-iup.klnpa.org/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=a9h) comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals on many topics.

• Access Newspaper Archive  http://navigator-iup.passhe.edu/login?url=http://access.newspaperarchive.com/Default.aspx 
  Access NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. It is your gateway to searching and reading historical newspapers online including the Indiana Gazette and other Pennsylvania newspapers.

• Historic New York Times http://proxy-iup.klnpa.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/advanced?accountid=11652 offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files.

• Historic Pittsburgh Courier http://proxy-iup.klnpa.org/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/hnppittsburghcourier/advanced?accountid=11652  1911-2002. As one of the most nationally circulated Black newspapers, the Courier reached its peak in the 1930s. A conservative voice in the African-American community

• For additional databases that include newspaper sources, go to the IUP Libraries databases page (https://libraryguides.lib.iup.edu/az.php/) and do a keyword search under “newspaper.”

Advice from Helpful Tips for Researching in Chronicling America http://library.sc.edu/blogs/newspaper/2011/07/21/ helpfultipsforresearchingchroniclingamerica/

Search newspaper pages to retrieve article level information on:

• particular people, proper names, family names, and businesses

• particular cities, towns, and communities

• specific historical events and general news of the time

• illustrations, advertisements, cartoons, and photos

• and a vast array of topics like social issues, war, crime, technology and progress, education, labor, fashion, material culture, community history, etc.

When selecting search terms remember to:

• use historically used terms rather than the modern terms used today, such as the Great War instead of World War One as it is called today

• try variations on spelling

• enter words in order they are most likely to occur

• Google News Archive.
  (https://news.google.com/
  newspapers/?hl=en)
  an extension Google News, providing free access to scanned archives of newspapers and links to other newspaper archives on the web, both free and paid.

• Tips on Searching Google News Archive
  (http://genealogy.about.com/od/
  newspapers/a/
  Search-Tips-For-Google-News-Archive.htm). This article provides useful tips on doing successful searches in Google News Archive.