Skip to main content

Library Resources for MIDL221 Students: Author Study and Presentation

This guide will help you find the resources you need to complete the two major assignments in this course--the Literature Portfolio and the Author Study and Presentation.

Print Resources

  • Something about the Author [REF] PN451.S6

  • Children’s Literature Review [REF] PN1009.A1 C5139

  • Illustrators of Children’s Books [REF] NC965.I44

  • Twentieth Century Children’s Writers [REF] PN1009.A1 T9

Electronic Resources

Biography in Context

A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,450,000 MARC records and more than 315,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 37 review sources.

Literature Criticism Online

The 10 individual, award-winning Gale series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. They include the Gale Criticism titles that were formerly available at IUP Libraries only in print. Now beginning with the 2009 imprints from the following collections these important criticism titles are available online.

Literature Resource Center

A complete literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.

Something About the Author Online

Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. It includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series v.200, 2009 to present.Previous issues are available in print in the Reference Collection on the main floor of Stapleton Library.