Skip to main content

History 495 - Women in World War II: Home

Finding Government Information Online

The U.S. government has produced publications that document what it does and what people in the country have done since its beginnings. Many of these publications are considered primary sources and are free from copyright restrictions. There is no single place to search for government information for historical research.  For over one hundred years the Government Printing Office has made government information available to the public, initially through its depository library and more recently via the Internet.  It provides the Catalog of U.S. Government Publications  to assist users in locating federal publications. It is a good way to find current government information, but its does not provide comprehensive access to its historical publications.

 Digitization Projects Registry  is a listing of digitization projects undertaken by libraries, U.S. Government agencies, and non-profit institutions with a goal to increase access to historical U.S. Government publications that were previously only available in print format.

Internet Archive includes thousands of historical government publications

Library of Congress Digital Collections.

National Archives Online Public Access Catalog

Worldcat  Search by topic or name of agency to find government publications available in libraries for any period.

Embedded Librarian

Women and World War II

Finding Books

Finding Journal Articles

There are many databases that will provide information on American History but the most comprehenisve is  America: History and Life. It includes articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history published since 1964. It does not always provide access to full-text of items cited, but informs researchers on what has been published and in some cases it provides links to the full text of the articles online. JSTOR, which offers full-text access to over a hundred years of older journals and Project Muse which covers the last five years of scholarly periodicals in many areas including History. Other general databases such as Academic Search Complete and Academic One File provide access to a broad variety of journals and magazine sources.

Finding Newspaper Sources

Historians rely upond primary sources to do historical research. Historical newspaper sources often offer valuable primary source information on the news of the day. Every day more and more historical newspaper source material becomes available on the Internet, either through IUP Library databases or freely accessible digital projects. Historical newspaper databases offered by IUP Libraries include the Historical New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and the Wall Street Journal, and Access Newspaper.  The Google Newspaper Archive site also offers full-text access to many other historical newspapers.

Interlibrary Loan Services at IUP Libraries

Interlibrary Loan

It is an unfortunate truth that no modern library can possibly own all of the materials its patrons might need. However, we are dedicated to providing you with access to the materials you need to support your scholarly and professional activities. As part of this commitment, we offer interlibrary loan services to university students, faculty, and staff to obtain materials that are not available in our collections.

To use our interlibrary loan services, follow the steps below:

Requesting Books: PALCI

  1. Check our Online Catalog to determine whether IUP owns the book or item locally, and whether it is available to view or check out.
  2. If the book or item you want is not owned by IUP, use PALCI E-ZBorrow to submit a request for the item. Most requests submitted through PALCI are received within one week.

Requesting Articles: ILLIAD

  1. Check the E-Journal Portal and the Online Catalog to determine whether the article can be found in IUP's collections, either as a print article or in electronic form.
  2. If the article is not available in IUP's collections, use ILLIAD to submit a request for the article.

Please note: if the item is owned by IUP and is available, your interlibrary loan request will not be filled, so it is important to verify whether you can obtain the item at IUP before submitting your request. If you have trouble checking our collections for the item you want to borrow, please contact the Reference Desk for assistance.

For more information about Interlibrary Loan, please consult the FAQ.