Skip to main content

United States Labor History and Studies: Home

This guide will provide information and links on the subject of Labor History and Studies in the United States including books, databases, journals, primary resources and relevant websites.

Labor Arbitration

Labor Arbitration Archives in Special Collections        

 

Link off to these Collections

Websites

Wirtz Labor Library  The Department of Labor Library, established in 1917, is one of the oldest Cabinet-level libraries. Large sections of the collection document the history of labor, labor unions and the growth and development of the labor movement in a national and world persceptive. 

Samuel Gompers Papers   Samuel Gompers was the nation’s leading trade unionist in the late 19th and early 20th centuries and president of the American Federation of Labor from 1886 until his death in 1924. The website gives a biographical about Samuel Gompers and labor activities of his time.

Haymarket Affair Digital Collection The Chicago Historical Society has created this digital collection to provide on-line access to its primary source materials relating to the Haymarket Affair, a controversial moment in Chicago's past and a pivotal event in the early history of the American labor movement. 

The Coal Culture Website  The Coal Culture web site pilot project is funded through the Library Services and Technology Act (LSTA). The regional focus of the collection is western Pennsylvania Coal culture featuring images of coal mine operations, coal miners, coal families, communities and activities

Windber Miners' Strike for Union, 1922-23  This website gives information on the strike of 1922-23 led by John Brophy and the District #2 Mineworkers in their fight for wages and better conditions.

Mary Harris "Mother" Jones  Link off to this website to find out more about this crusader for the working people

 

 

Helpful Databases

      IUP Indexes & Databases          IUP Libraries  

The CQ Electronic Library                                       Davis Bacon Wage Determination

Historical New York Times- Proquest                        Service Contract Act Wage Determination Database

Historical Pittsburgh Couier-Proquest                        Business Full Text

Historical Wall Street Journal- Proquest                    Lexis-Nexis/Academic Universe

American Periodicals Series Online- Proquest            Sociological Collection

Legal Collection 

America: History & Life- Ebsco                                                   

Lexis Nexis / Academic Universe                              

Women and Social Movements           Currently the library has 220 databases covering 74 subject areas

Books

Some Titles From Our Collection

Link To IUP Libraries Books and More

                                

American Workers, American Unions:The Twentieth Century by Robert H. Zieger & Gilbert J. Gall  2002

Another Civil War:Labor, Capital, and the State in the Antharacite Regions of Pennslyvania, 1840-68 by Grace Palladino  2006

Gendering Labor History by Alice Kessler-Harris  2007

Encyclopedia of U.S. Labor and Working-Class History edited by Eric Arneson  2007

The Human Tradition in American Labor History edited by Eric Arneson 2004

Labor Embattled: History, Power, Rights by David Brody  2005

The Human Tradition in American Labor History edited by Eric Arneson 2004

Labor Enbattled:History, Power, Rights by David Brody 2005

 

 

 

Subject Guide

Rhonda Yeager's picture
Rhonda Yeager
Contact:
IUP Art Department Visual Resources

Events

 

On November 12, 2008, IUP students, faculty and local history enthusiasts were invited to join labor historians Dr. Irwin Marcus and Dr. Elizabeth Ricketts discuss the Labor Chautauquas of the local area in the 1920's. This is a important and fascinating chapter in labor and social history.

Click here to watch the video of this event

Click here to read IUP Ex-Libris November 2008 Newsletter