Skip to main content

Searching the Scientific Literature: E-Journals

A general guide and portal to searching the scientific literature at IUP and beyond.

Journals FAQ

Click theĀ  to get answers to common questions about IUP Library Resources.

Understanding E-Journals

You will frequently see references to both IUP's library databases as well as the Library's e-journal collection.

One of the most important things to recognize while searching through our collections is that databases and e-journals are intimately connected - in fact, you might say they are practically the same thing.

Our databases are sold to us by various database vendors, who manage the databases and make sure they are up to date and contain the correct information about millions of articles. In addition, these vendors provide us with the full-text of many of our journals - meaning that when you locate an article in the database, you will frequently be able to, with one click, view the actual article as it originally appeared when it was first published.

These full-text articles - basically, electronic versions of journals - are our e-journals. Every one of the e-journals mentioned on our website or listed in our catalog as "Electronic Journal" are in fact contained within one of the hundreds of databases the IUP Libraries provides to students and faculty. The diagram below illustrates how e-journals and databases are related.

 

Science Librarian

Chris Clouser's picture
Chris Clouser
Contact:
Stapleton Library 102B
724-357-5697