The second floor of the Stapleton/Stabley library building houses the library's book collections, classrooms, and other services. On this floor, you'll find:
The library's administrative offices, including the Office of the Dean of Libraries, are found on the second floor.
Book Collection: A - K
The library's monograph collection begins on the second floor of the Stapleton library building. Here, you'll find books whose call number begins with the letters A through K.
Children's Book Collection
In the Stabley half of the library building we keep our Children's Collection. These are books aimed at children and young adults, and are commonly used by students in the College of Education. Books in this area are organized using the Dewey Decimal System (as opposed to the Library of Congress Classification system used in the general monograph collection).
Graduate Study Rooms
The Library offers the use of several study rooms to graduate students. These rooms can be reserved by students to hold study sessions or for other academic purposes.
Public Computers & Study Tables
The Stabley portion of the library building offers a number of public computers, as well as tables for group study.
Room 201: Library Teaching Lab
The Library Teaching Lab, Room 201 Stabley, is located on the second floor. This room offers state of the art computer workstations and presentation equipment, and is frequently used for teaching library orientations (when available!).
Room 210: Library Classroom
This room is frequently used for library orientation classes.
For our education students, the library maintains a collection of textbooks (aimed at elementary, secondary, and college education). These books are located on the second floor, near the Children's Collection.
Thesis and Dissertation Collection
When a student at IUP publishes a Master's thesis or Ph.D. dissertation, a copy of the work is published and added to the library's holdings. These theses and dissertations are available on the second floor of the IUP libraries.