Skip to main content

Basic Legal Research: Handbooks and Manuals

Find websites, books, and helpful guides to finding and citing law, legal opinions, and legal articles.

Library Contacts

Reference Desk     
724-357-3006

Government Documents 
724-357-4892

Circulation/Reserve  
724-357-2340

Interlibrary Loan      
724-357-3037

Administrative Office    
724-357-2330

Library hours

IUP Home

 

Books

Handbooks and Manuals

Legal Research Manual: a game plan for legal research and analysis - KF240 .W7 1988 - Probably the best book in the IUP collection for legal research beginners.

Handbook for Research in Media Law - KF241.C65 L66 2005 - By its title you'd think this book was useful only for media law, but it's not.  This book provides good explanations of laws, statutes, regulations and the differences that exist between them and case law.  In addition, it gives a good explanation of how to use LexisNexis legal research and case validation features.

Practical Legal Research: skills & strategies for the legal assistant - KF240 .W32 1995 - Whether or not you intend to become a paralegal, this is a good resource. 

Reference Works

Legal Research In a Nutshell - [REF] KF240 .C54 1971 -  While this is a good resource, don't let the title fool you.  Legal research, when done correctly, is exhaustive.

How to Find the Law - [REF] KF240 .C538 1983 

Congressional Quarterly's Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court  - [REF] KF8742 .W567 1990

Black's Law Dictionary - [REF] KF156.B53 2004

Corpus Juris Secundum: a complete restatement of the entire American law as developed by all reported cases - [REF] KF154.C56

Federal Supplement - [REF] KF120 .F42

Federal Reporter - [REF] KF 105 .F432

 

Search for Books and/or Request Inter-Library Loans

  • The Libraries' book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatments of historical topics. Use PILOT, our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the full-text of electronic reserve  items and other valuable information on the Internet.
  • To search the catalogs of other Pennsylvania libraries, and to borrow from them directly, search PALCI  (log in using your 16-digit I-card number).