Skip to main content

Finding Government Information Through Your Depository Library: Home

This guide provides links to federal and Pennsylvania state government information sites.

IUP Depository Library 0533

depository eagle

Help Finding Government Information

IUP Depository Library 0533 Policies

IUP Libraries is a Pennsylvania State and Federal depository library. The general public is welcome to use depository materials free of charge. IUP Libraries adheres to the following policies set by the Government Printing Office:

FDsys Educational Webinars

IUP Libraries is a Selective Federal and Pennsylvania State Depository Library

IUP Libraries has served as a depository for state and federal government information for over half a century.  With the needs of our users and possibliities made possible by electronic delivery in mind, we have moved from paper collections to electronic access when possible, making government information more accessible than ever.  Use this page to access government information on your own, or contact Theresa McDevitt, mcdevitt@iup.edu,  our Government Information Librarian for assistance.

For information on the history of the Government Printing Office, see GPO in the Civil War.  http://www.gpo.gov/pdfs/about/GPO_CivilWar_brochure.pdf

What is a Depository Library?

The Federal Depository Library Program was established by Congress to ensure that the American public has access to its Government’s information. GPO administers the FDLP on behalf of the participating libraries and the public. Information products from the Federal Government are disseminated to these nationwide libraries that, in turn, ensure the American public has free access to the materials, both in print Federal Government information is made available for free public use in depository libraries around the country in over 1,200 locations.

What can I find at a depository library?

  • Expert reference assistance from Government information librarians
  • Access to online Government information resources
  • A network of librarians to facilitate access to materials located at other libraries

Depositories also provide online access to Government information. GPO online services are offered to help users of all ages find Federal information, and depository librarians provide expert assistance in using these online services: More information on the Federal Depository Library System can be found at:http://www.gpo.gov/libraries/

Congressional Information and Publications

Finding Tools for Federal Government Information (Freely Accessible)

Use these tools to search for federal government information:

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications.   Lists and describes federal publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general keyword.

FDsys . Presents online versions of major U.S. government publications, such as: the Congressional Record, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, executive branch documents and more.

Google. Limit your results to authoritative government websites by adding site:.gov to your keywords to limit searching to governmental websites.

IUP Pilot.  Use our online catalog to find hard copy documents in our collection, as well as links to online documents (add online government to your search to find only online government documents) .

MetaLib  A federated search engine that searches multiple federal government databases, retrieving reports, articles, and citations while linking to selected resources available online.

Proquest Congressional (IUP Users only) Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Provides access to U.S. legislative information, including bills and pending legislation, legislative history, hearings, testimony, reports, documents, legislative calendars, committee rules of procedure, Congressional Record, CRS Reports, public laws, etc.

Statististical Insight  Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

United States Government Manual. This official handbook of the federal government describes programs and activities of the legislative, judicial and executive branches. The Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and federal boards, commissions, and committees.

U.S. Government Databases (NDSU Library Listing).  Subject and alphabetical lists of databases for federal government information - much of which is not findable through a general web search.

USA.gov  Official portal to government information and services provided by the federal government.

Worldcat  (IUP Users only) Over 50 million records of material cataloged by libraries. Often includes links to online full-text government publications.

Subject Guide

Separate United States Documents Collection SUDOCS Numbering System Tutorial

Use Google Advanced Search for Online Documents

Google Advanced search is also a good way to search just .gov sites.
Include site:.gov in your search string and you will find sites only in that
domain.

Sources of Declassified Documents