Skip to main content

Historical Research: Home

This guide contains links to sites and databases useful for historical research.

Ask a Librarian

Text us your question at 724) 401-1984 or send an email and/or check our knowledge base of frequently asked questions below.

Credo Reliable Reference Sources for American History

Access to Items Not Owned by IUP

Google Scholar Search

Library Information

Cambria Memory Event

Finding Books

Finding Journal Articles

There are many databases that will provide information on American History but the most comprehenisve is  America: History and Life. It includes articles, book reviews, and dissertations on all periods of North American history published since 1964. It does not always provide access to full-text of items cited, but informs researchers on what has been published and in some cases it provides links to the full text of the articles online. JSTOR, which offers full-text access to over a hundred years of older journals and Project Muse which covers the last five years of scholarly periodicals in many areas including History. Other general databases such as Academic Search Complete and Academic One File provide access to a broad variety of journals and magazine sources.

Historical Newspaper Articles and other Primary Sources

Historians rely upond primary sources to do historical research. Historical newspaper sources often offer valuable primary source information on the news of the day. Every day more and more historical newspaper source material becomes available on the Internet, either through IUP Library databases or freely accessible digital projects. Historical newspaper databases offered by IUP Libraries include the Historical New York Times, Pittsburgh Courier, and the Wall Street Journal, and Access Newspaper.  The Google Newspaper Archive site also offers full-text access to many other historical newspapers.

Subject Guide

Video Sources

Finding Information in Historical Newspapers

Chronicling America: America's Historical Newspapers http://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/

Great Web Tools for Searching Historical Newspapers https://familysearch.org/blog/en/great-web-tools-searching-historic-newspapers/

How to Find Old Newspaper Articles Online http://www.labnol.org/internet/old-newspaper-articles/18689/