Skip to main content

Communications Media Research: Selected Databases

A guide to resources for research in communications media.

Recommended Databases

SAGE Journals Online

The Sage Communications Studies Collection includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,000 articles. It covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.

Communication and Mass Media Complete

The most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with the acquisition and subsequent merging of two popular databases in the fields of communication and mass media studies -- CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University). Communication & Mass Media Complete provides an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in any and all aspects of communication and mass media.

Communications Institute for Online Scholarship (CiOS)

The Communication Institute for Online Scholarship is a not-for-profit organization supporting the use of computer technologies in the service of communication scholarship and education.  CIOS is the publisher of "The Electronic Journal of Communication" one the first five peer-reviewed online scholarly journals ever created (and perhaps the only one in continuous publication). And the CIOS is creator of ComIndex, the communications field's first electronic bibliographic index to academic services, and of the Visual Communication Concept Explorer an unmatched next-generation research tool for students and scholars researching in CIOS databases.

Business Source Premier

Provides full text for over 1,320 scholarly business journals and indexing/abstracting of over 2,000 journals covering management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and more. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Computers and Applied Sciences Complete

Covers the research and development spectrum of the computing and applied sciences disciplines. CASC provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,300 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources from a diverse collection. Full text is also available for more than 500 periodicals.

IEEE Computer Society Library Subscription Plan

The IEEE Computer Society Library Subscription Plan (CSLSP-e) provides full-text internet access to 22 IEEE Computer Society periodicals and over 150 annual conference proceedings. Coverage includes 15 of the top 30 most highly cited journals in computer science. The backfile includes journal content to 1988 and conference proceedings back to 1995. More than 100,000 full-text documents are available through CSLSP.

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection

PsycArticlesProvides nearly 550 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and more. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

PsycINFO

Contains summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in 25 languages. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

SocINDEX

The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Science Librarian

Chris Clouser's picture
Chris Clouser
Contact:
Stapleton Library 102B
724-357-5697