Skip to main content

Career & Occupational Research Resources: Home

Library Contacts

IUP Career Development Center
724-357-2235

Reference Desk     
724-357-3006

Government Documents 
724-357-4892

Circulation/Reserve  
724-357-2340

Interlibrary Loan      
724-357-3037

Administrative Office    
724-357-2330

Library hours

IUP Home

 

Web Resources for Career and Occupational Research

Web Sites

Occupational Outlook Handbook - About the Handbook: The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a nationally recognized source of career information, designed to provide valuable assistance to individuals making decisions about their future work lives. The Handbook is revised every two years.

Standard Occupational Classification (SOC) - The SOC supersedes the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) (listed below).

Dictionary of Occupational Titles - The Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT) was created by the Employment and Training Administration, and was last updated in 1991.

CareerOneStop - Sponsored by the U. S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration

Books

Some of the books listed below are located at the Stapleton Library at main campus.  You must make an ILL request to get the book.  If there are several listings for the book you need, always try to get the most recent edition as shown in the "Date" column.  Once you're viewing the information about the book, write down the book's call number.  You'll need it to request the book.  Finally, DO NOT wait until the last minute to request these books.  It can sometimes take a week or more to have them sent to a branch campus.

Occupational Outlook Handbook 2010 - 2011 - This is a printed book located at the IUP main campus.  You must make an ILL request to get the book.  Older editions of this book are available at the branch campuses.

Occupational Outlook Handbook 2010 - 2011 - This is an electronic book which maybe viewed online. 

Dictionary of Occupational Titles 2007 - This is a printed book located at the IUP main campus.  You must make an ILL request to get the book.

Encylopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - This is a printed book located at the IUP main campus.  You must make an ILL request to get the book.

New Guide for Occupational Exploration 2006 - This is a printed book located at the IUP main campus.  You must make an ILL request to get the book.

O*NET : dictionary of occupational titles 2007. - This is a printed book located at the IUP main campus.  You must make an ILL request to get the book.

O*Net : dictionary of occupational titles. - This is an electronic book which maybe viewed online.  However, it is not as up-to-date as the printed version listed immediately above.

Citing What You Find

The following links are provided courtesy of Purdue University.

A guide to the Chicago/Turabian style of citation.

A guide to the APA style of citation.

A guide to the MLA style of citation.

A guide to citing electronic sources.

 

Questions or Comments?

Questions or comments concerning this page should be directed to Crawford Johnson. Correspondence regarding this site should be sent to its maintainer, Ed Zimmerman, edzimmer@iup.edu. Last updated on 4.26.10.

Public Services Librarian

Chris Clouser's picture
Chris Clouser
Contact:
Stapleton Library 102B
724-357-5697

Guide Creator

Guide originally created by Richard Louis.