Skip to main content

Selected Resources for Literature Studies: General Databases

A guide to online and print resources that support the study of British and American literature.

General Databases for Library & Literary Research

Academic OneFile

The premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources.  Extensive coverage includes literature.  Millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.  Updated daily.  Gale INFOTRAC interface.

Academic Search Complete

A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.  Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Credo Reference

More than three million full-text entries from 587 reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotation sources, bilingual dictionaries, crossword solvers, and measurement converters.  Uses a Web interface.

EBSCOhost 

Select multiple or all EBSCOhost databases to search at one time.  Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Encyclopedia Britannica Online

Includes the complete encyclopedia, as well as, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, among other resources.

General OneFile

A one-stop source news and periodical articles on a wide range of general topics including literature and art.  Millions of full-text articles, many with images.  Updated daily. Uses the Gale INFOTRAC interface.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.


InfoTrac One File

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topic, including literature and art.

ProQuest 

Search all ProQuest databases at one time.  Uses the "New ProQuest Interface" interface.