Skip to main content

Selected Resources for Literature Studies: Biography Full-text Databases

A guide to online and print resources that support the study of British and American literature.

Library Databases for Biographical Information

 

American National Biography

Offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women--from all eras and walks of life--whose lives have shaped the United States.  Updatesd semi-annually.  Print volumes orginally published in 1999.  Uses the ProQuest interface.

Biography Resource Center

A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas.

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete

Provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of selected authors, critics, screenwriters, journalists.  Begin coverage in 2009.  Can be searched by author, title of work, year of birth and death, nationality, genre, essay topic, full text, ethnicity and gender.

In the First Person

Index of more than 3,350 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. It lets you keyword search more than 650,000 pages of full-text by more than 15,000 individuals from all walks of life.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Allows you to explore the lives of 50,000 people who have shaped the British past over the last 2,400 years--from the Greek explorer Pytheas to Princess Diana, and from the founding fathers of America to the nawabs of Bengal.

Something about the Author Online

This database examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.  It includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series, v. 200, 2009 to the present.  Previous issues are available in print in the Reference Collection in Stapleton Library.  Uses a Web interface.