Skip to main content

Selected Resources for Literature Studies: Poetry and Drama Full-text Databases

A guide to online and print resources that support the study of British and American literature.

Library Full-text Databases for Poetry & Drama

The Columbia Granger's World of Poetry

Use this database to find poetry about a particular subject or to identify lines from a poem.  Finds poems in collections.  Incorporates the 8th to 12th editions of Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected & Selected Works and The Columbia Granger's Index to African-American Poetry.  Uses EBSCOhost interface.

African-American Poetry 1760-1900

Text archive of about 3,000 English language poems by eighteenth and nineteenth-century African-American poets from the first recorded poem by an African American to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.  Use the ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey interface.

Twentieth Century African-American Poetry

A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove.  Use the ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey interface.

Twentieth Century English Poetry

A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present, including W. B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah, Carol Ann Duffy and more.  Uses the ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey interface.

Black Drama

Contains the full text of almost 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries.  Also contains 600 or more previously unpublished plays and detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.  A resource file allows users to see playbills, stills, and photographs.

Twentieth Century North American Drama

Contains 1,122 plays by 170 playwrights, together with detailed information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.  Database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.  More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.