Skip to main content

Selected Resources for Literature Studies: Research and Criticism

A guide to online and print resources that support the study of British and American literature.

Yale University Course

The American Novel Since 1945.  Lectures by Amy Hungerford of Yale University.

Library Databases for Research and Criticism

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Criticism and Theory

Presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements.  Includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.  Uses a Web interface.

Literary Research Guide

A selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics.  It evaluates important bibiliographies, abstracts, surveys of research, indexes, databases, catalogs, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and more.  The Modern Language Association produces this database.  Uses a Web interface.

Literature Criticism Online

Represents a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres.  The Gale series titles that comprise this database include Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism.  Coverage begins in 2009.

Literature Resource Center

A complete literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user. Rich in biographical, bibliographical, and critical content.

MLA International Bibliography

Index produced by the Modern Language Association consisting of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. Uses the ProQuest interface.