Skip to main content

Selected Resources for Literature Studies: Full-text Novels, Short Stories, Essays, etc. Databases

A guide to online and print resources that support the study of British and American literature.

E-Books and E-Journals

E-Books (User guide)

Click here for a guide to using electronic books.  E-books are computer files of the full text of books that include words (and sometimes pictures) that can be read on a computer or other electronic device or downloaded.

E-BOOKS on EBSCOHost (formerly NetLibrary)

A collection of electronic monographs now delivered through the EBSCOHost Interface. EBSCO's extensive collection of NetLibrary eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience - with every search, relevant eBook titles can appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

ebrary Academic Complete

ebrary offers more than 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas are available through Academic Complete. This database is the industry's largest e-book subscription database with content from over 500 trusted publishers and with unlimited access for IUP affiliated users. IUP also licenses a collection for ebooks that is a Keystone Library Network joint purchase with individual titles selected by IUP. Ebrary is a subsidiary of Proquest. Uses the ebrary interface.

E-Journals

Click here for a list of electronic journals for English and American literature studies that are available in full text online.

Full Text Databases of Literary Works and Criticism

American Periodical Series Online

This unique collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the beginning of the 20th century.  Uses the ProQuest interface.

Black Thought and Culture

Approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders with the Black community from the earliest times to 1975. Web interface.

British Periodicals Online I

Traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through the Victorian "age of periodicals" and beyond.  Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.  Uses the ProQuest interface.

Early American Fiction 1789-1875

Early American Fiction includes the full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes.  Uses the ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey interface.

Early English Books Online

EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.  Uses ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey interface.

Humanities Full-Text

Includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines in the humanities, with indexing from 1983 forward and full text starting in 1995.  Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

JSTOR

Online archives of more than 500 journals in African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics.  Designed specifically for archiving journals, so it does include the most recent 2-5 years of each title.  Uses Web interface.

Literature Online (LION)

A fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama, and prose, 168 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.  Uses the ProQuest/Chadwyck-Healey interface.

Past Masters--Women Writers (On Campus Use Only or VPN)

Includes correspondence, journals, and primary works of important women writers in the English language. 

Project Muse

Provides full-text online scholarly journals from academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.