Skip to main content

Library Database Resources for Journalism: Full-Text Newspaper Databases and More

A selective guide to library research databases for journalism, communication, and mass media.

E-Books

E-Books on EBSCOhost (formerly NetLibrary)

A collection of electronic monographs now delivered through the EBSCOHost Interface. EBSCO's extensive collection of NetLibrary eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience - with every search, relevant eBook titles can appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of IUP's eBook offerings and increasing usage and visibility of our entire collection. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

ebrary Academic Complete

ebrary offers more than 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas are available through Academic Complete. This database is the industry's largest e-book subscription database with content from over 500 trusted publishers and with unlimited access for IUP affiliated users. IUP also licenses a collection for ebooks that is a Keystone Library Network joint purchase with individual titles selected by IUP. Ebrary is a subsidiary of Proquest. Uses the ebrary interface.

On the Library Shelves

Recent library acquisitions for journalism

Full-Text Newspaper Databases

Academic Universe (Lexis/Nexis)

Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information allowing retrieval of documents that meet your specific research needs. Uses the LEXIS/NEXIS interface.  Provides access to recent issues of the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and many other major news sources.


Access NewspaperARCHIVE

Access NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. It is your gateway to searching and reading historical newspapers online including the Indiana Gazette and other Pennsylvania newspapers. Use the archive to view, save and print full-page newspapers from around the world.


Indiana Gazette

Available through the Access NewsPaper database are historical newspapers for Indiana and Indiana County, Pennsylvania, with some coverage beginning as early as the 1860s.


New York Times (Historical Archive)

Offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. Overall dates of coverage are 1851-2003. Uses the Proquest interface.


Newspaper Source

Provides selected full text articles from 143 US and international newspapers. This database is updated daily. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.


Newsstand

ProQuest Newsstand offers access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. The database includes backfile for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides the very latest local, regional and national news. Uses the Proquest interface.

 

Wall Street Journal (Historical Archive)

Offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. Overall dates of coverage are 1889-1987. Uses the Proquest interface.