Skip to main content

Health and Wellness Resources: Library Databases for Health and Wellness Information

A guide to selected Internet resources, library databases, and print and audiovisual sources on health and wellness.

Library Databases for Health and Wellness Research

AHRQ: Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality  AHRQ is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), complementing the biomedical research mission of its sister agency, the National Institutes of Health. AHRQ is a home to research centers that specialize in major areas of health care research such as quality improvement and patient safety, outcomes and effectiveness of care, clinical practice and technology assessment, and health care organization and delivery systems.  Uses Web interface.

Alt HealthWatch  Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports and proceedings as well as other materials. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Annual Reviews Online  A collection of authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are and have been among the most highly cited in scientific literature.

Bacteriology Abstracts   With topics ranging from bacterial immunology and vaccinations to diseases of man and animals, the database provides access to far-reaching clinical findings as well as all aspects of pure bacteriology, biochemistry, and genetics. Uses the ProQuest interface

Cambridge Scientific Abstracts   Provides multiple databases in the fields of biological and medical sciences, as well as, related links to web sites through CSA's Web Resources Database.  Uses the CSA interface.

CINAHL with Full-Text  Database designed specifically to meet the informational needs of nurses and allied health professionals. It is the equivalent to Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. Uses the EBSCOhost interface

Cochrane Library   The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more. Cochrane reviews bring you the combined results of the world's best medical research studies, and are recognized as the gold standard in evidence-based health care. Uses a Web interface.

Counseling and Therapy in Video   provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible. This current release includes 352 videos totalling 402 hours.

Endocrinology Abstracts   This database is no longer actively updated. It contains over 12,000 records. Uses the ProQuest interface.

Health Source: Consumer Edition  Provides full text for over 300 consumer health periodicals, over 1,100 health pamphlets, and 145 consumer health reference books. Also included is Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Health Source: Nursing Academic Edition  Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for more than 800 journals. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA)   includes the full text of JAMA, published by the American Medical Association. JAMA is published weekly, 48 issues per year, and new issues are posted on the Web site at 3 PM CT on Tuesdays. Full Text content begins with 1998 to Present.

Medline (ProQuest)  This database is the premier bibliography in biomedicine and the life sciences, compiled by The National Library of Medicine. It contains a broad range of medical topics relating to research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. It combines the paper indexes: Index Medicus, International Nursing Index, and Index to Dental Literature. Uses the ProQuest interface.

Medline with Full-Text  The world's most comprehensive source of full text for medical journals, providing full text for nearly 1,200 journals indexed in MEDLINE. This wide-ranging file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the MEDLINE index. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Neuroscience Abstracts  This database enables neuroscientists to keep abreast of major advances within the field and their implications for other medical specialties. The database covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's. Uses the ProQuest interface.

New England Journal of Medicine  The NEJM site includes the full text of NEJM, published by the New England Journal of Medicine. NEJM is published weekly, 48 issues per year. Uses a Web interface.

Nutrition Care Manual  Delivers all the great diet and disease information in the Manual of Clinical Dietetics. NCM is based on the Nutrition Care Process: Nutrition Assessment, Diagnosis, Intervention, Monitoring and Evaluation. Subscription limited to 10 concurrent users. Uses a Web interface.

Oncogene and Growth Factors Abstracts   Covers every aspect of oncogene research into the molecular basis of malignant transformations. Uses the ProQuest interface.

Oregon PDF in Health & Performance  OregonPDF in Health & Performance cooperates with colleges and universities throughout the world to make available graduate dissertations and theses in areas related to health and performance. The intellectual focus of the collection is physical activity. Academic areas of interest include biochemistry, biomechanics, dance, exercise physiology, history or philosophy of physical education, kinesiology, motor control, obesity, recreation, sports marketing, sports medicine, sports pedagogy, sports psychology, and tests and measurements. Uses a Web interface.

PILOTS  This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Uses the ProQuest interface.

PsycARTICLES  American Psychological Association database containing full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1987 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes more than 35,000 full-text articles from 49 journals. Uses the EBSCO interface.

PsychiatryOnline  American Pyschiatric Association's  database of books and journals that features the DSM-IV-TR and The American Journal of Psychiatry.

Public Library of Science The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. PLoS publishes its own journals. Uses a Web interface.

PubMed Central  An archive of Life Sciences Journals, PMC is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Access to the full text of articles in PMC is free, except where a journal requires a subscription. Uses a Web interface.

SciFinder Scholar  SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research frommany scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Using this tool you can explore scientific information in more than 10,000 scholarly journal and patent information from more than 57 patent authorities. SciFinder Scholar also provides access to more than 15 million single- and multi-step reactions; more than 1 bllion predicted and experimental properties; and the CAS REGISTRY.

NOTE: SciFinder Scholar is a web-based application. Registration is available to current IUP faculty, staff, and students only. For information about registering, please contact IUP's Science Librarian. Access is limited to one user from IUP at a time. Because of this single-person access limitation, please remember to log off the SciFinder Scholar website as soon as you are finished using it, to permit others to use the software.

Sport Discus with Full Text   SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the SPORTDiscus index - with no embargo. With full-text coverage dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports & sports medicine literature.

Toxicology Abstracts  This database is the only comprehensive resource for professionals in this field and is specifically focused to meet the needs of toxicologists. The database covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Uses the ProQuest interface.

Toxline  Contains information in all areas of toxicology, including chemicals and pharmaceuticals, pesticides, environmental pollutants, and mutagens and teratogens. Provides bibliographic citations and abstracts from journal articles, monographs, and more. Uses the ProQuest interface.

Virology and Aids Abstracts   Virology and AIDS Abstracts provides access to the literature on every aspect of virology in humans, animals, and plants with topics ranging from replication cycles to oncology to AIDS. Uses the ProQuest interface.