Suggested Reference Sources
- Archive of Hispanic Literature on tape: a descriptive guide compiled by Francisco Aguilera [REF] Z1609.L7U54 1974
This guide contains a biographical statement on some of the most outstanding literary figures from Latin America and the Iberian Peninsula. There are comments on the works of each author, and a bibliography of important publications. The archive is housed in the Library of Congress-Latin American Division.
- Contemporary Spanish-speaking writers and illustrators for children and young adults: a biographical dictionary [REF] PQ7082.C48 C66 1994
- Dictionary of Literary Biography (DLB) [REF] PS21.D5
Contains biographical and critical essays on authors from a wide range of historical periods and nationalities.
- Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture. Selections. [REF] CT502.E542 1998
Latin American lives: selected biographies from the five-volume Encyclopedia of Latin American history and culture.
- Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture (2 vols.) [REF] F1210.E63 1997
- Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century (4 vols.) [REF] PN771 .E5 1999
Contains biographical and critical articles. Includes bibliographies of works by and about authors.
- European Writers [REF] PN501 .E9 1983
Essays on author’s life, times, and works. Includes bibliographies.
- Hispanic literature criticism (2 vols.) [REF] PQ7081.A1 H573 1994
Contains a broad selection of the best criticism of the works by major Hispanic writers of the past 100 years. Scope:U.S., Mexico, Cuba, Spain.
- Hispanic writers : a selection of sketches from Contemporary authors / Bryan Ryan, editor. [REF] PQ7081.3 .H58 1991
Contains more than 400 entries on 20th century Hispanic writers-focusing on Hispanic
literature and culture in the Americas.
- Interviews with Spanish writers / Marie-Lise Gazarian Gautier. PQ6051 .G39 1991
- Latin American Writers (3 vols.) [REF] PQ7081.A1 L37 1989
Contains biography, critical studies, and bibliographies on writers from the 15th to the 20th century.
- Masterpieces of Latino Literature [REF] PQ7081.A1 M29 1994
- Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers. First Series. (See DLB v.113)
Modern Latin-American Fiction Writers. Second Series. (See DLB v.145)
Contains essays on a writer’s life, times and works. Includes bibliographies.
- Modern Latin American literature (2 vols.) [REF] PQ7081.F63 1975
- Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature (1978) [REF] PQ6006 .O95
Brief articles on authors, terms, literary movements, etc. Includes authors writing in Spanish around the world
- Spanish American Authors: The Twentieth Century [REF] PQ7081.3.F57 1992
“…Novelists and poets from Central and South America, Puerto Rico and the Caribbean…”. Includes biographical information, critical summaries, and bibliographies.
- Spanish American Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Source Book [REF] PQ7081 .S63 1990
Includes 50 of the most important women writers of Latin America from the 17th Century to the 1980s.
Bibliographies, Dictionaries and Handbooks
- Bibliotheca americana. A dictionary of books relating to America, from its discovery to the present time. [REF] Z1201 .S22 1961
- Collins diccionario Ingles [REF] PC4640 .C53 2003
- Diccionario Cambridge Klett Compact [REF] PC4640.D487 2002
- Gran diccionario español-inglés [REF] PC4640 .G73 1993
- Dictionary of the Literature of the Iberian Peninsula [REF] PN849.S6 D54 1993
Coverage of literature, authors, and movements from the 10th Century to the mid-1980s.
- Spanish Literature, 1500-1700: A Bibliography of Golden Age Studies in Spanish and English, 1925-1980 [REF] Z2692 .M67 1984
- Spanish Women Writers: A Bio-bibliographical Source Book [REF] PQ6055 .S63 1993
Covers 50 authors from the 14th Century to the early 20th Century from a feminist critical perspective.
- Contemporary Spanish American Poets: A Bibliography of Primary and Secondary Sources [REF] Z1609.P6S4 1992
Covers 86 poets born in the first half of the 20th century.
- Dictionary of Mexican Literature [REF] PQ7106 .D53 1992
Covers writers, literary schools, and cultural movements with emphasis on the 20th century.
- Dictionary of Twentieth-century Cuban Literature [REF] PQ7378 .D53 1990
Coverage from 1900 to mid-1980s. Includes biography, criticism and bibliographies.
- Handbook of Latin American Literature [REF] PQ7081.A1 H36 1992
Essays on the various national literatures.