Skip to main content

Library Research in Adult and Community Education: Suggested Databases

The following databases are used most often by students in the College of Education:

Ambrose Streaming Video 2.0

Ambrose Streaming Educational video covers 100 titles in the science, education and history disciplines. Click on the "Institutional Access" tab in the top right of the initial page to view IUP's content. Uses the Ambrose interface.

America: History & Life with Full Text

America: History & Life with Full Text is the definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canda, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for over 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. America: History & Life with Full Text also provides full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts New ProQuest Interface

ASSIA spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals and periodicals, from more than 16 countries. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: BF, H, L, R

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

The Arts & Humanities Citation Index, part of Web of Science, is an index to the journal literature of the these disciplines. The database indexes more than 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Please follow this link for more information about Web Of Science. Uses the Web of Science interface.
LC Classification: B, M, N, P
★Licensed with Performance Funds

Cabell's Directories

Cabell Publishing, Inc. was founded in 1978, to help professors, graduate students and researchers publish their manuscripts. To achieve this goal, the company strives to maintain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals. Also, the company seeks to provide information on publication guidelines and review information. Collections with access for IUP include Business, Education, Psychology and Nursing. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: PN4840-PN5648, Z278-Z549

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,450,000 MARC records and more than 315,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 37 review sources. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: AC, PN1008-PN1009, PN1023, Z1037

EBOOKS on EBSCOhost -- Education Collection

The eBook Education Collection features more than 3,200 quality titles supporting students and faculty in the Education discipline. Titles range from introductory texts for undergraduate coursework to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars. Also included are support materials for student teachers and professionals working in K-12 and higher ed classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behavior and dynamics. Notable publishers include McGraw-Hill Education, Corwin Press, the Association for Supervision & Curriculum Development, Sage Publications, Harvard University Press, ABC-CLIO, and the National Science Teachers Association. All titles are available with unlimited user access, and titles are regularly added to the collection. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Education in Video New Interface

Education in Video, from Alexander Street Press, is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available. This release now provides 195 titles, equaling approximately 114 hours.
LC Classification: LB1705-LB2286

Education Index Retrospective Retrospective

Provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks on Education from 1929-1983. Topics include a wide range of education issues. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: L

Education Source

Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. The extensive collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews. Coverage in Education Source spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

The Sage Education Collection includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies distinguished by up to 40 years of backfiles, and encompasses over 8,000 articles. Also available in SAGE Premier.
LC Classification: L

Emerald

full-text access to peer reviewed journals in the areas of Business and Management, Health and Environment, Library and Information Management, Training and Education, Material Science and Technology.
LC Classification: AC

ERIC

a combination of the paper indexes Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Items retrieved from RIE are documents assigned ED numbers. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: L

ERIC Web Portal

Provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. More than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents are available as well.
LC Classification: L
★E*Subscribe documents are now located here

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Films On Demand can deliver high-quality digital video ideal for students and faculty through online catalogs, distance learning courses and learning management systems. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: AC

JSTOR Off Campus Link

Online archives of over 500 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title. Follow this link to IUP JSTOR Journal Collections.

Currently we subscribe to some of the JSTOR archive: Arts & Sciences Collections I,II,III,IV,V,VI,VII, the Biological Sciences Collection, and the Business II Collection.
LC Classification: AC
★Some content licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Provides full text for over 460 general interest and current events magazines. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: AC

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

The purpose of the Yearbook is to provide evaluative information to promote informed test selection. Typical test entries include descriptive information, professional reviews, and reviewer references. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: LB1050.9-LB1091

Middle Search Plus

Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Online Classroom Access provided by Center for Teaching Excellence

Online Classroom is the newsletter of choice for those who want to stay abreast of the rapidly evolving world of online teaching. This monthly publication helps you: Create and design quality online courses Stay current with the latest online learning strategies Manage online courses without becoming overwhelmed Keep online students engaged and committed Continuously evolve and improve your online courses It is a MUST read for Online instructors,Faculty who are preparing to teach online or in a blended format, Instructional designers, Distance education administrators and Faculty development staff. Published 12 times per year. Note: There is a link on the page to print the individual monthly newsletters as PDF's. It includes archives back to 2004.

Primary Search

Primary Search provides full text for more than 50 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: AC, LB1049.9-LB1050.7

Project MUSE

Provides full-text online scholarly journals from academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
LC Classification: AC

ProQuest Education Journals

ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: L

PsycArticles [EBSCOHost]

American Psychological Association database containing full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1987 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes more than 35,000 full-text articles from 49 journals. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: BF

PsycINFO [EBSCOHost]

Contains summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in 25 languages. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: BF

SAGE Knowledge

SAGE Knowledge is the ultimate social sciences digital library for students, researchers, and faculty. It is Sage's eBook Delivery Platform. Currently we subscribe to 86 reference titles at this service and over 4,000 of its book publications.

SAGE Premier

SAGE's electronic journal package includes access to approximately 601 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals in the social science disciplines. Uses the Sage interface.
LC Classification: AC
★Licensed with Performance Funds

Sage Research Methods Cases [SRMC]

SAGE Research Methods Cases is a collection of case studies of real social research, specially commissioned and designed to help you understand abstract methodological concepts in practice. These case studies will complement theoretical understanding, at all levels, by exploring the difficulties, nuances and real-life decisions that researchers face. SAGE Research Methods Cases has been developed to meet the needs of methods teachers, students and researchers, internationally. The collection is developed for use in class teaching or by students and researchers seeking applied understanding of research methods. Each case is equipped with learning outcomes and discussion questions to guide and support understanding. It is a companion piece to Sage Research Methods Online. Uses the Sage interface.

Something About the Author Online

Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. It includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series v.200, 2009 to present.Previous issues are available in print in the Reference Collection on the main floor of Stapleton Library. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: PN147.5, PN1009, PN3377, Z1037

Springer eBook Collection

IUP Libraries provides access to 1337 Springer eBook titles available here. They include the following 2014 collections: Behavioral Science -- 137 titles Business and Economics -- 438 titles Humanities, Social Science and Law -- 762 titles. Added 1455 additional titles in December 2014 Note: All these ebooks have unlimited user rights. Uses the SpringerLink interface.

SpringerLink Journals for IUP

Through a consortial agreement IUP Libraies is providing access to 1820+ Springer Journals. SpringerLink is Springer's integrated full-text database for journals
LC Classification: AC, BF, H, Q, R, T

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: L

Teaching Professor Access provided by Center for Teaching Excellence.

The Teaching Professor is a lively, practical newsletter with a singular purpose: to provide ideas and insights to educators who are passionate about teaching. This acclaimed newsletter dedicated to the art and science of teaching has been published since 1987. For 25 years, The Teaching Professor has been edited by Maryellen Weimer, Ph.D., professor emerita of teaching and learning, winner of Penn State's Milton S. Eisenhower award for distinguished teaching, and author of many books on teaching and learning. Under her auspices, each issue delivers thought-provoking and inspirational articles. The Teaching Professor helps you: Overcome obstacles to effective teaching Stay on top of the latest pedagogical research Hear what's working for colleagues "in the trenches" Hone your skills and stay on top of teaching innovations Truly connect with your students It is a MUST read for teaching professors, academic deans, new faculty, faculty development staff, department chairs and administrators. It is published 10 times per year. The link above provides access to the archive back to 2004. Note: There is a link on each issue page to print the individual monthly newsletters as PDF's.

Tests in Print

A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, and more. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: BF, L