Skip to main content

Library Research in Adult and Community Education: E-books

What is an ebook?

An ebook (also referred to as an electronic book,  digital book, or e-edition) is a book-length publication in digital form, consisting of text, images, or both, and produced on, published through, and readable on computers or other electronic devices. Sometimes the equivalent of a conventional printed book, e-books can also be born digital. The Oxford Dictionary of English defines the e-book as "an electronic version of a printed book," but e-books can and do exist without any printed equivalent. E-books are usually read on dedicated e-book readers or general purpose computer tablets. Personal computers and many mobile phones (most smart phones) can also be used to read e-books.

Source: Wikipedia. (2012). E-book. Retrieved from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E-book

Where do I find ebooks?

You may search for ebooks in PRIMO, IUP Libraries' online catalog, or go directly to the following ebook databases:

E-BOOKS on EBSCOHost (formerly NetLibrary)

A collection of electronic monographs now delivered through the EBSCOHost Interface. EBSCO's extensive collection of NetLibrary eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience - with every search, relevant eBook titles can appear directly alongside your other EBSCO databases, exposing users to the full depth of IUP's eBook offerings and increasing usage and visibility of our entire collection. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: AC

Ebook Central 

ebrary has announced that more than 80,000 titles in all academic subject areas are available through Academic Complete. This database is the industry's largest and most affordable e-book subscription database with content from over 500 trusted publishers and with unlimited access for IUP affiliated users. IUP also licenses a collection for ebooks that is a KLN joint purchase and individual titles selected by IUP. Ebrary is a subsidiary of Proquest. **You must sign in to download an ebook: choose Indiana from the menu that appears and then login to the IUP Single Sign On with your IUP network username and password.** Uses the ebrary interface.
LC Classification: AC

Search eBooks on EBSCOhost

Read eBooks on EBSCOhost

Download eBooks on EBSCOhost

ebrary: Searching, Finding, and Using eBooks