Skip to main content

Library Resources for CRIM817 Students: Resources for Qualitative Research Proposal and IRB Protocol Assignment

This guide provides CRIM817 students with valuable resources they can use to successfully complete course requirements.

Literature Reviews

Helpful Library Interfaces for the Literature Review

EBSCOhost (includes Criminal Justice Abstracts)

Indexes major journals in criminology and related disciplines, extensive coverage of books, and unparalleled access to reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. Includes full text. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

ProQuest (includes Criminal Justice Periodicals Index)

An essential resource for both students and professionals in any criminal justice field. The ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodical Index (CJPI) is the most comprehensive database of its kind. Uses the Proquest interface.

SAGE Premier (includes Criminology: A SAGE Full-text Collection) 

The Sage Criminology Collection includes the full text of 23 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 23 years, encompassing over 5,500 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence. The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the collection links to the appropriate full-text article in PDF format.

What is an empirical research article?

An empirical research article is an article which reports research based on actual observations or experiments. The researcher may have used quantitative methods, which generate numerical data and seek to establish causal relationships between two or more variables, or the researcher may have used qualitative methods, which objectively and critically analyze behaviors, beliefs, feelings, or values with few or no numerical data available for analysis.

Source: University of La Verne. (2012). What is an empirical article? Retrieved from http://library.laverne.edu/empirical-research.php

How can I find an empirical research article in IUP Libraries' databases?

Take a look at the articles in your result list and ask yourself the following questions:

1) Is the article published in an academic, scholarly, or professional journal? Use the scholarly or peer-reviewed journal limiter to take out the “guesswork.”

2) Does the abstract of the article mention a study, an observation, an analysis or a number of participants or subjects? Was data collected, a survey or questionnaire administered, an assessment or measurement used, an interview conducted? All of these terms indicate possible methodologies used in empirical research.

3) Does the article contain the following sections?

  • Introduction
  • Literature review
  • Methodology Results
  • Discussion
  • Conclusion
  • References

Note: These sections may be combined, and may have different headings or no headings at all; however, the information that would fall within these sections should be present in an empirical article.

4) How long is the article? An empirical article is usually substantial; it is normally three or more pages long. When in doubt, share the article citation and abstract with your professor or a librarian so that he/she can help you recognize the differences between empirical research and other types of scholarly articles.

Source: University of La Verne. (2012). What is an empirical article? Retrieved from http://library.laverne.edu/empirical-research.php

Application of Research Methods

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses

Includes both Dissertation Abstracts and full text for all ProQuest digital dissertations from 1997 to present.
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

IRB Protocol

IUP's School of Graduate Studies and Research publishes a webpage that contains helpful resources for students and faculty who wish to submit an IRB protocol to the institutional review board.