Skip to main content

Library Database Listing: S

S

SAGE Premier

SAGE's electronic journal package includes access to approximately 601 Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Journals in the social science disciplines. Uses the Sage interface.
LC Classification: AC
★Licensed with Performance Funds

Sage Research Methods Online

SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is an award-winning tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SRMO's taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content, including: - Over 600 books - Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks - The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series - Two major works collating a selection of journal articles - Newly commissioned videos
LC Classification: AC, H62, LB2369, Q179.9-Q180, ZA3075

Sage Research Methods Online

SAGE Research Methods Online (SRMO) is an award-winning tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SRMO's taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content, including: - Over 600 books - Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks - The entire "Little Green Book" and "Little Blue Book" series - Two major works collating a selection of journal articles - Newly commissioned videos
LC Classification: AC, H62, LB2369, Q179.9-Q180, ZA3075

Science Direct

ScienceDirect offers one of the world's most advanced web delivery systems for scientific, technical and medical information in addition to other research disciplines. IUP Libraries is making available our subscribed Elsevier titles (81) in addition to 700+ other titles made available through a consortial agreement with Palinet through the ScienceDirect platform. We also have complete access to all Elsevier journal titles (abstracts only) through the ScienceDirect interface. Subscribed content (824 titles) is indicated by a green key or page icon. Unsubscribed content (a white key or page icon) can be ordered through ILLIAD InterLibrary Loan. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: BF, GE, H, Q, R, S, T
★Licensed with Graduate Funds

SciFinder Scholar Registration Required

SciFinder Scholar is a research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty to access a wide diversity of research frommany scientific disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more. Using this tool you can explore scientific information in more than 10,000 scholarly journal and patent information from more than 57 patent authorities. SciFinder Scholar also provides access to more than 15 million single- and multi-step reactions; more than 1 bllion predicted and experimental properties; and the CAS REGISTRY.

NOTE: SciFinder Scholar is a web-based application. Registration is available to current IUP faculty, staff, and students only. For information about registering, please contact IUP's Science Librarian. Access is limited to one user from IUP at a time. Because of this single-person access limitation, please remember to log off the SciFinder Scholar website as soon as you are finished using it, to permit others to use the software.


LC Classification: Q, R, S, T
★Single-user license: only one user may log in from IUP at any given time.

Serials Directory

Provides up-to-date bibliographic information and pricing for over 155,000 US and international periodicals. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: AC

Service Contract Act Wage Determination Database IN-LIBRARY USE ONLY

The Service Contract Act Wage Determination Database (SCA) contains unsigned copies of the latest wage determinations developed by the U.S. Department of Labor (USDOL).
LC Classification: HD4909-HD5100.9
★Must ask a librarian for access

SIAM Journal of Applied Mathematics ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

The SIAM Journal on Applied Mathematics publishes research articles that treat scientific problems using methods that are of mathematical interest. Appropriate subject areas include the physical, engineering, financial, and life sciences.
LC Classification: QA
★Courtesy 2 year Grant-- National Science Foundation Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (S STEM) program under Award No. DUE 0966206

SIAM Review ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

The SIAM Review consists of five sections, all containing articles of broad interest. Survey and Review features papers with a deliberately integrative and up-to-date perspective on a major topic in applied or computational mathematics or scientific computing. Expository Research Papers contains research papers in applied mathematics and scientific computation that have appeal to a broad audience and feature a high quality of exposition.
LC Classification: QA
★Courtesy 2 year Grant-- National Science Foundation Scholarships in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (S STEM) program under Award No. DUE 0966206

Social Sciences Full Text [H.W. Wilson]

Wilson's Social Sciences Full covers some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines with indexing from 1983 forward and full text from 1994. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: H

Social Service Abstracts

-This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: HV40-HV69

SocINDEX with Full Text

The world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: HM

Sociological Abstracts

--This database abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: HM

Sociological Collection

Covers all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure. This database provides complete full text for more than 500 journals. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: HM

Something About the Author Online

Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. It includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series v.200, 2009 to present.Previous issues are available in print in the Reference Collection on the main floor of Stapleton Library. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: PN147.5, PN1009, PN3377, Z1037

SportDiscus with Full Text

The world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 350 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: GV201-GV1198.995, RC1200-RC1245

SpringerLink Journals for IUP

Through a consortial agreement IUP Libraies is providing access to 1820+ Springer Journals. SpringerLink is Springer's integrated full-text database for journals
LC Classification: AC, BF, H, Q, R, T

Statistical Insight

The world's most comprehensive access to statistical information, allowing users to search summaries of statistical publications then link to the full text of selected publications on Statistical Universe or government Web sites. Uses the ProQuest. interface.
LC Classification: AC