Skip to main content

Library Database Listing: A

A

Academic Onefile

--Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Uses the GALE InfoTrac interface.
LC Classification: AC

Academic Search Complete

Designed specifically for academic institutions, ASC is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: AC

Academic Universe (LEXIS/NEXIS)

Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information allowing retrieval of documents that meet your specific research needs. Uses the LEXIS/NEXIS interface.
LC Classification: D, E, F, H, J, K

Access - the Supplementary Index to Periodicals ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

Access provides a unique indexing resource for popular periodicals. It does not duplicate any indexing in the Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature and following Access' publication on the internet in 1999 any indexing found in the general indexes of the H.W. Wilson Company available via the WilsonWeb. Access was the first index to provide indexing for a number of important U.S. periodicals like the New York Review of Books and Rolling Stone.
LC Classification: AC

Access NewspaperARCHIVE

Access NewspaperARCHIVE contains tens of millions of searchable newspaper pages, dating as far back as the 1700s. It is your gateway to searching and reading historical newspapers online including the Indiana Gazette and other Pennsylvania newspapers. Use the archive to view, save and print full-page newspapers from around the world. Content on Access NewspaperARCHIVE is a unique primary resource, as newspapers provide information as news happened and not necessarily the way it was remembered.
LC Classification: D, E, F

Accessible Archives

Accessible Archives was founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only on microfilm.
LC Classification: D,E,F

AccessScience

Provides the finest collection of science reference materials. This database offers easy accessibility to all the articles, fully illustrated, from the latest edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
LC Classification: Q
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

ACM Digital Library

The ACM Digital Library is a vast collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings. As a member of PALCI, IUP subscribes to the entire Digital Library.
LC Classification: QA75-QA76
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

ACS Web

Online collection of over 30 American Chemical Society Journals and Magazines in full text (HTML or PDF). Also includes the Archives of these journals. Uses the ACSWEB interface.
LC Classification: QD

African-American Poetry 1760-1900

The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper. Uses the Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey interface.
LC Classification: PS312-PS314, PS591.N4, PS700-PS3369
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

Agricola

Compiled by the U.S. National Agricultural Library (NAL), this comprehensive source of bibliographic information consists of over 2.5 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, and other materials. Uses the EBSCO interface.
LC Classification: S

AHRQ: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the health services research arm of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS), complementing the biomedical research mission of its sister agency, the National Institutes of Health. AHRQ is a home to research centers that specialize in major areas of health care research such as quality improvement and patient safety, outcomes and effectiveness of care, clinical practice and technology assessment, and health care organization and delivery systems. It is also a major source of funding and technical assistance for health services research and research training at leading U.S. universities and other institutions, as well as a science partner, working with the public and private sectors to build the knowledge base for what works -- and does not work -- in health and health care and to translate this knowledge into everyday practice and policymaking. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: R

Alt HealthWatch

Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. This database provides full text for articles from more than 140 international and often peer-reviewed reports and proceedings as well as other materials. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: R

America: History & Life

A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and other critical materials. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: E, F1001-F1145

American Association of State Colleges and Universities Grant Resource Center ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

The Grants Resource Center of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) provides concise and current information related to grants, funding agencies, and new developments in external funding.
LC Classification: HG177, LB2335.95-LB2337

American National Biography

The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Originally Published in 24 volumes in 1999. Uses the Proquest interface.
LC Classification: E, F1-F975
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

American Periodicals Series Online

This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Uses the Proquest interface.
LC Classification: E, PN4840-PN4899
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

American Physical Society Journals Online

Full text for all of the American Physical Society's journals for the most recent 4 years. Titles include Physical Review A, B, C, D, and E, Physical Review Letters, Physical Review Index, and Review of Modern Physics. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: QC

Animal Behavior Abstracts

This database supports behavioral and related studies. It covers significant papers relevant to animal behavior, with subjects ranging from neurophysiology to behavioral ecology, from genetics to applied ethology. Uses the Subset of ProQuest's Biological Sciences Collection. interface.
LC Classification: QL750-QL795, SF

Annual Reviews Online

A collection of authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences. Annual Reviews publications are and have been among the most highly cited in scientific literature.
LC Classification: H, Q, R

Anthropological Index

A major index for Social and Cultural Anthropology. It also covers physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics. Based on the collection of the Royal Anthropological Institute's Museum of Mankind Library, it indexes over 700 journals worldwide.
LC Classification: GN

Anthrosource ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

The premier online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists. Developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA), AnthroSource brings 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public, including: Current issues for 15 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. An electronic archive of all AAA journals. Seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist (for AAA members and subscribing institutions). Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: GN

Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts New ProQuest Interface

ASSIA spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals and periodicals, from more than 16 countries. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: BF, H, L, R

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts 1 - Biological Sciences & Living Resources

This database provides extensive coverage of basic and applied research on aquatic organisms for scientists involved in the cooperative management of the world's living aquatic resources. All aspects of marine, freshwater and brackish water organisms and environments are examined, including information on biology and ecology of aquatic organisms, exploitation of living resources and related legal, policy and socioeconomic issues Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: HC, QH91-QH100, QH541, QL614-QL639.8, SH201-SH691

Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts: Marine Biotechnology Abstracts

-This database assembles the findings from investigations on increased production of seafood, in the development of new therapeutic drugs, in the engineering of microbes that digest and remove environmental and marine pollutants and in launching myriad ventures having immense economic benefit. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: HC, QH91-QH100, QH541, QL614-QL639.8, SH201-SH691

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts - Aquaculture Abstracts

This specialized database specifically selects its widely dispersed aquaculture-related information by focusing on studies related to improving and augmenting aquatic yields. The records included provide comprehensive information on cultivating marine, freshwater and brackish water species. With the extensive information resources of the international ASFA partnership behind it, ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts provides specific, unparalleled coverage of the planned management of aquatic organisms. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: HC, QH91-QH100, QH541, QL614-QL639.8, SH201-SH691

ArchivGrid ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

ArchiveGrid is an important destination for searching through historical records, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: C, D, E, F, Z

Art Abstracts

Indexes and abstracts journals from more than 313 periodicals worldwide, as well as yearbooks, museum bulletins, and reproductions. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: N

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1

The Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project from which the collections draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960. Created under the direction of Dr. Nicolas Kanellos, founder and director of Arte Publico Press, the oldest and largest publisher of U.S. Hispanic literature in the U.S., the collection accurately conveys the creative life of U.S. Hispanics, and sheds new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: E184.C34, E184.M5, E184.S75

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

The Arts & Humanities Citation Index, part of Web of Science, is an index to the journal literature of the these disciplines. The database indexes more than 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Please follow this link for more information about Web Of Science. Uses the Web of Science interface.
LC Classification: B, M, N, P
★Licensed with Performance Funds

ARTstor

ARTstor provides curated collections of art images and associated data for noncommercial and scholarly, non-profit educational use.
LC Classification: N
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

Audiobooks from EBSCO

A collection of e-audiobooks delivered through the EBSCOHost Interface and available for download on IPODS and MP3 players. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: AC
★Some content licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

Audiobooks from EBSCO

A collection of e-audiobooks delivered through the EBSCOHost Interface and available for download on IPODS and MP3 players. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: AC
★Some content licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds