Skip to main content

Library Database Listing: G

G

GALE Databases

A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, and more.
LC Classification: AC
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

Gale Literary Index

A free online index to forty of Gale's printed sources. A quick and easy way to locate biographies of authors and critical essays on their writings. The entries include location information only--textual information is available.
LC Classification: P

General OneFile

General OneFile is a one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of general topics: business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. Uses the Gale INFOTRAC interface.
LC Classification: AC

General Science Full-Text [H.W. Wilson]

General Science Full Text from the H. W. Wilson Company provides bibliographic information for science articles from 300 science periodicals with indexing going back to 1984 and abstracts to 1995. Full text begins in 1995 for over 100 titles. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: Q

GeoBase New Interface!

GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation. Covering thousands of peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, book series and conference proceedings, GEOBASE has the most international coverage of any database in the field. Uses the Engineering Village interface.
LC Classification: GE195-GE199, HD1-HD1741, QC801-QC849, QE

GeoBib

Online Geographical Bibliography (GeoBib) is the online version of Current Geographical Publications. Beginning with January 2004, it will be available only online cumulating all Current Geographical Publications entries from 1984 to the present.
LC Classification: G

Geo-Data (Gale Virtual Reference Library Title)

Entries describe the physical geography of every nation and dependency on Earth. Physical features, climate, and vegetation are discussed in detail using a consistent set of rubrics. Each entry includes a detailed map.
LC Classification: GB, QC980-QC995, QK
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

GeoRef

American Geological Institute's database containing over 1.9 million records of North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933. Uses the Proquest interface.
LC Classification: QE

GeoRef in Process

GeoRef In Process contains unedited records that are still in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database. Some of the records originate from older, non-English language literature while other, more current records are simply not yet complete. This database is intended as a supplement to the main GeoRef database. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: QE

Google Scholar

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
LC Classification: AC

GPO Access

GPO Access. Government Printing Office's One Stop Source for Official Government Information. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: AC, JK1-JK9593

Granger's World of Poetry

For over a century, Granger's has been the definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies on library shelves. First published in 1904, The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry is now in its 12th edition.
LC Classification: PN1022
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: GE, HC, HD, HE, S, TD, TH, TJ

GreyNet

GreyNet, the Grey Literature Network Service was founded in 1992. The goal of GreyNet is to facilitate dialog, research, and communication between persons and organisations in the field of grey literature. GreyNet further seeks to identify and distribute information on and about grey literature in networked environments. GreyNet's collections of Conference Preprints (2003-2007) are now available in the OpenSIGLE Repository. The work of some 200 authors and researchers in the field of grey literature over the last 5 years is now online accessible.
LC Classification: AC