Skip to main content

Library Database Listing: P

P

PAIS International

Contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: H, J
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

Past Masters - Philosophy ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

Includes: Aristotle: Complete Works; Hegel: OUP Translations; Locke: Philosophical Works and Selected Correspondence; Plato: Complete Dialogues; Political Philosophy: Machiavelli to Mill; Santayana: Works; Wittgenstein: Collected Works.
LC Classification: B-BD, BH-BJ

Past Masters - Women Writers ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

Includes correspondence, journals, and primary works of important women writers in the English Language. IUP's collection includes: Austin, Baillie, Behn, Bluestocking Feminism, Bronte, Eliot, and Mary Shelley to name a few.
LC Classification: AC, P, HQ1101-HQ2030.7

Pennsylvania County Histories 1870 - 1900

Includes 47 books on the histories of counties in Pennsylvania. Each book includes chapters which cover in great detail: local history, geology, geography, weather, transportation, lists of all local participants in the Revolutionary War, and much more.
LC Classification: F146-F160

Pennsylvania Gazette 1728-1800

Published in Philadelphia from 1728 through 1800, the Pennsylvania Gazette is considered The New York Times of the 18th century. It provides the reader with a first hand view of colonial America, the American Revolution and the New Republic.
LC Classification: E197-E330, F146-F160, F157.P56

Philosopher's Index

Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: B-BD, BH-BJ

PILOTS New ProQuest Interface!

This bibliographic database, covering the Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its provides citations and abstracts to the international literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: BF175.5.P75, RC552.P67

Plant Science

Contains citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science, focusing on all plant scientific aspects, especially on pathology, symbiosis, biochemistry, genetics, biotechnology, techniques and environmental biology. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: GE, QK

POEISIS ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

POIESIS (Philosophy Online Serials) is a subscription based reference and publishing service offering searchable access to the full text of hundreds of current, recent, and back issues of a growing number of philosophy journals and series.
LC Classification: B-BD, BH-BJ

PolicyMap

PolicyMap houses thousand of indicators related to demographics, real estate markets, crime, vacancy, income, education, unemployment, health, mass transit and public investments. Public data is available to the public for free; subscribers can access proprietary data. All are available in fluid, interactive, thematic maps.
LC Classification: H, L, R
★Licensed under a grant from the Department of Community & Economic Development of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania for a 2-year PolicyMap Library License

Primary Search

Primary Search provides full text for more than 50 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.
LC Classification: AC, LB1049.9-LB1050.7

Proceedings of the Old Bailey Online

a fully searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published, containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court. The Old Bailey Proceedings Online makes available a fully searchable, digitised collection of all surviving editions of the Old Bailey Proceedings from 1674 to 1913, and of the Ordinary of Newgate's Accounts between 1676 and 1772. It allows access to over 197,000 trials and biographical details of approximately 2,500 men and women executed at Tyburn, free of charge for non-commercial use. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: HV6941-HV6950, KD

Project MUSE

Provides full-text online scholarly journals from academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.
LC Classification: AC

PROLA - Physical Review Online Archive

The complete full text for all journals published by the American Physical Society between 1893 and 2003. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: QC

PROQUEST

Search all Proquest databases at one time. Uses the New Proquest Interface interface.
LC Classification: AC

Proquest Biological Science Journals

This interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science, including over 600 full text titles. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: QH, QK, QL, QM, QP, QR, S, SF

ProQuest Biological Sciences Collection New ProQuest Interface!

Interdisciplinary database offering abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: QH,QK,QL,QM,QP,QR, S

ProQuest Congressional

ProQuest Congressional offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress. Use the Advanced form to search by congressional publication types including Testimony (Hearings), Debate (Congressional Record) and Background Reports (Committee Prints). Coverage 1789 to present. Uses the ProQuest interface.
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodicals Index (PCJP)

An essential resource for both students and professionals in any criminal justice field. The ProQuest Criminal Justice Periodical Index (CJPI) is the most comprehensive database of its kind. Uses the Proquest interface.
LC Classification: HV, K
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Title Change / New ProQuest Interface

Includes both Dissertation Abstracts and full text for all Proquest digital dissertations from 1997 to present. With more than 1.6 million entries, the Dissertation Abstracts database is the authoritative source for information about doctoral research. If you have trouble accessing this database from off-campus, please try connecting via this link. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: AC
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

ProQuest Education Journals

ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: L

ProQuest Political Science Journals

This database gives users access to over 400 leading political science and international relations journals. This collection provides full-text of many core titles included in Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: J

ProQuest Social Science Journals

-This database includes over 535 titles, with more than 310 available in full text. Disciplines represented range from anthropology, sociology, political science to communication, education, criminology, demography, economics and more. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: H

ProQuest Sociology

This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including culture and social structure, history and theory of sociology, social psychology, substance abuse and addiction and more. This collection provides full-text coverage of many core titles included in Sociological Abstracts and Social Services Abstracts. It includes almost 300 full text titles. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: HM, HV, HV40-HV69

proquest sociology Smithsonian Physical Tables ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN

Originally published by Smithsonian Institution Press in 1954, this classic reference source comprises 901 tables of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense.
LC Classification: Q, QC, T

PsycARTICLES

American Psychological Association database containing full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1987 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes more than 35,000 full-text articles from 49 journals. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: BF
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

PsychiatryOnline

American Pyschiatric Association's database of books and journals that features the DSM-IV-TR and The American Journal of Psychiatry.
LC Classification: RC435-RC571

Psychological & Behavioral Science Collection

Provides nearly 550 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and more. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.
LC Classification: BF, GN

PsycINFO

Contains summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in 25 languages. Uses the ProQuest interface.
LC Classification: BF

Public Library of Science (PLoS)

The Public Library of Science (PLoS) is a non-profit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource. PLoS publishes its own journals. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: Q, R

PubMed

PubMed is a project developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: QH, QK, QL, QM, QP, QR, R, RS380, S494.5.B563, TD192.5-TD192.7, TP248.13-TP248.65

PubMed Central (PMC)

An archive of Life Sciences Journals, PMC is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's digital archive of life sciences journal literature. Access to the full text of articles in PMC is free, except where a journal requires a subscription. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: QH, QK, QL, QM, QP, QR, R, RS380, S494.5.B563, TD192.5-TD192.7, TP248.13-TP248.65