Skip to main content

Library Resources and Services for Special Education Faculty: Suggested Databases

The following databases are used most often by special educators:

Academic Onefile

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Uses the GALE InfoTrac interface.

Applied Social Science Index and Abstracts

ASSIA spans the literature of health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education. The database abstracts and indexes over 500 journals and periodicals from more than 16 countries. Uses the ProQuest interface.    

Cabell's Directories

Cabell Publishing, Inc. was founded in 1978, to help professors, graduate students and researchers publish their manuscripts. To achieve this goal, the company strives to maintain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals. Also, the company seeks to provide information on publication guidelines and review information. Collections with access for IUP include Business, Education, Psychology and Nursing. Uses a Web interface.

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,450,000 MARC records and more than 315,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 37 review sources. Uses a Web interface.

E-BOOKS on EBSCOHost (formerly NetLibrary)

A collection of electronic monographs now delivered through the EBSCOHost Interface. EBSCO's extensive collection of NetLibrary eBook titles on EBSCOhost allows for a comprehensive and powerful search experience. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

ebrary

ebrary has announced that more than 70,000 titles in all academic subject areas are available through Academic Complete. This database is the industry's largest and most affordable e-book subscription database with content from over 500 trusted publishers and with unlimited access for IUP affiliated users. IUP also licenses a collection for ebooks that is a KLN joint purchase and individual titles selected by IUP. Ebrary is a subsidiary of Proquest. **You must sign in to download an ebook: choose Indiana from the menu that appears and then login to the IUP Single Sign On with your IUP network username and password.** Uses the ebrary interface.

Education Full-Text [H.W. Wilson]

Education Full Text from the H.W. Wilson Company provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks on Education including full text of articles from hundreds of journals. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Education in Video

Education in Video, from Alexander Street Press, is the first online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Upon completion, the collection will contain more than 1,000 video titles totaling 750 hours of teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. It will give education faculty, students, and in-service teachers a single source for the best research-based professional development video resources available. This release now provides 195 titles, equaling approximately 114 hours.

Education Research Complete

The definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.

Education Retrospective

Provides comprehensive coverage of an international range of English-language periodicals, monographs and yearbooks on education from 1929-1983. Topics include a wide range of education issues. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

The Sage Education Collection includes the full text of 26 peer-reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies distinguished by up to 40 years of backfiles and encompasses over 8,000 articles. Also available in SAGE Premier.

Emerald

Full-text access to peer-reviewed journals in the areas of Business and Management, Health and Environment, Library and Information Management, Training and Education, Material Science and Technology.

ERIC

A combination of the paper indexes Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE). Items retrieved from RIE are documents assigned ED numbers. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Choose from more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Films On Demand can deliver high-quality digital video ideal for students and faculty through online catalogs, distance learning courses and learning management systems. Uses a Web interface.

JSTOR Off Campus Link

Online archives of over 500 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title. Follow this link to IUP JSTOR Journal Collections.

Kraus Curriculum Development Library (kcdlonline)

Searchable database of curricula that brings together educational objectives, content, instructional strategies, and evaluative techniques for all subjects covered in PreK-12 and Adult Basic Education.

MAS Ultra - School Edition

Provides full text for over 460 general interest and current events magazines.

Mental Measurements Yearbook

The purpose of the Yearbook is to provide evaluative information to promote informed test selection. Typical test entries include descriptive information, professional reviews, and reviewer references. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Primary Search

Primary Search provides full text for more than 50 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.

Project MUSE

Provides full-text scholarly journals from academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

ProQuest Education Journals

ProQuest Education Journals gives users access to over 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education. Many titles are indexed in the ERIC database. Uses the ProQuest interface.

Science Direct

ScienceDirect offers one of the world's most advanced web delivery systems for scientific, technical and medical information in addition to other research disciplines. IUP Libraries is making available our subscribed Elsevier titles (81) in addition to 700+ other titles made available through a consortial agreement with Palinet through the ScienceDirect platform. We also have complete access to all Elsevier journal titles (abstracts only) through the ScienceDirect interface. Subscribed content (824 titles) is indicated by a green key or page icon. Unsubscribed content (a white key or page icon) can be ordered through ILLIAD InterLibrary Loan. Uses a Web interface.

SpringerLink Journals for IUP

Through a consortial agreement, IUP Libraies is providing access to 1820+ Springer Journals. SpringerLink is Springer's integrated full-text database for journals

Teacher Reference Center

Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.

Tests in Print

A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, and more. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.

Web of Science

Access the world's leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Uses a Web interface.