Skip to main content

Psycholinguistics: Home

Ask a Librarian

Google Scholar Search

Interlibrary Loan

We are dedicated to providing you with access to the materials you need to support your scholarly and professional activities. As part of this commitment, we offer interlibrary loan services to university students, faculty, and staff to obtain materials that are not available in our collections.

To use our interlibrary loan services, follow the steps below:

Requesting Books: PALCI

  1. Check our Online Catalog to determine whether IUP owns the book or item locally, and whether it is available to view or check out.
  2. If the book or item you want is not owned by IUP, use PALCI E-ZBorrow to submit a request for the item. Most requests submitted through PALCI are received within one week.

Requesting Articles: ILLIAD

  1. Check the E-Journal Portal and the Online Catalog to determine whether the article can be found in IUP's collections, either as a print article or in electronic form.
  2. If the article is not available in IUP's collections, use ILLIAD to submit a request for the article.

What is Pyscholinguistics?

Psycholinguistics or psychology of language is the study of the psychological and neurobiological factors that enable humans to acquire, use, and understand language.

What are Scholarly Journal Articles?

What are Scholarly Journals?

Scholarly Journals are sources of high quality articles which have generally been written by scholars and researchers reporting in  detail on their original research.  They are also generally "peer reviewed" by other experts before they’re published. Most are published by professional or academic  organizations.  The most efficient and economical way to locate relevant, authoritative  journal articles for your research is to use library databases.

Specialized Databases with the Full-Text of Scholarly Journal Articles

Specialized databases which offer the complete full-text of many journals relating to psycholinguisitcs  include:

,PsycARTICLES 

American Psychological Association database containing full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1987 to the present. PsycARTICLES includes more than 35,000 full-text articles from 49 journals. Uses the ProQuest interface. 

Psychological & Behavioral Science Collection 

Provides nearly 550 full text publications, including more than 500 peer-reviewed journals. The database covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and more. Uses the EBSCOhost interface. 

Library Databases for Scholarly Journal Articles in Psycholinguistics

Specialized library databases that offer some full-text and some citations and abstracts to journal articles in psycholinguisitcs include the following: specialized  library databases such as those listed below : .

 Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts  New ProQuest Interface

Database of interest to both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language. Uses the ProQuest interface.  LC Classification:

MLA Directory of Periodicals 

The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, lists over 3,700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. Uses the EBSCO interface. 

MLA International Bibliography 

Index produced by the Modern Language Association consisting of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. Uses the Proquest interface

PsycINFO 
Contains summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers over 1300 journals in 25 languages. Uses the ProQuest interface. 

 

General Full-Text Scholarly Journal Article Databases

Some Article Databases contain complete full-text of scholarly journal articles on many topics including psycholinguistics.Two important ones are listed below:

JSTOR  Off Campus Link

Online archives of over 500 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title.  Follow this link to IUP JSTOR Journal Collections. Currently we subscribe to the entire JSTOR archive:  all five Arts & Sciences Collections, the Health & General Sciences Collection, the Biological Sciences Collection, and the Business II Collection.

Project MUSE 

Provides full-text online scholarly journals from academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. 

Subject Guide