Skip to main content

Literature Resources: Subject Specific Databases

A guide to IUP's resources for the study of English and American Literature

Subject Specific Databases

African-American Poetry 1760-1900

The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper. Uses the Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey interface. 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index

The Arts & Humanities Citation Index, part of Web of Science, is an index to the journal literature of the these disciplines. The database indexes more than 1,160 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. Please follow this link for more information about Web Of Science. Uses the Web of Science interface.

Black Drama

Contains the full text of nearly 1,200 plays written from the mid-1800s to the present by more than 100 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. 

Black Thought and Culture

Approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to 1975. 

Chadwyck-Healey Collections

Chadwyck-Healey literature collections makes the works of canonical writers, as well as their lesser-known contemporaries, accessible and available. Uses the Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey interface. 

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD)

The Children's Literature Comprehensive Database (CLCD) is an acquisition, research, and reference service that offers more than 1,450,000 MARC records and more than 315,000 reviews of children's books--all full text searchable from 37 review sources. Uses a Web interface. 

Essay & General Literature Index

Provides access to nearly 65,000 essays found in over 5,300 printed anthologies and collections, with coverage dating as far back as 1985. Subjects covered in the database include archaeology, architecture, art, children's literature, and more. Uses the EBSCOhost interface. 

Gale Literary Index

A free online index to forty of Gale's printed sources. A quick and easy way to locate biographies of authors and critical essays on their writings. The entries include location information only--textual information is available. 

Granger's World of Poetry

For over a century, Granger's has been the definitive source in English for locating a poem in anthologies on library shelves. First published in 1904, The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry is now in its 12th edition. 

Humanities and Social Science Retrospective [H.W. Wilson]

Wilson's Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cites articles from English-language periodicals. [1907-1984] 

Humanities Full-Text [H.W.Wilson]

Includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines in the humanities, with indexing from 1983 forward and full-text starting in 1995. Uses the EBSCOhost interface. 

Humanities Source

Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought. Uses the EBSCOhost interface. 

ITER - Middle Ages and Renaissance History

Created in 1995-96 to advance of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, through the development of online resources. Resources include Iter Italicum, International Directory of Scholars, Renaissance Quarterly, etc. Uses a Web interface.

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Criticism and Theory

The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. It presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements. It includes more than 240 alphabetically arranged entries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods Uses a Web interface. 

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts 

Database of interest to both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language. Uses the ProQuest interface.

Literary Research Guide

Literary Research Guide is an listing of reference sources in English Literary Studies. This is the MLA's online version of the 5th edition of the James L. Harner work. The Literary Research Guide is a selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the United States, other literatures in English, and related topics. Uses a Web interface.
LC Classification: PR, PS

MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, lists over 3,700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. Uses the EBSCO interface. 

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. 

Oxford Reference Online (ORO)

Contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press plus added functionality and detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.

Past Masters - Women Writers

Includes correspondence, journals, and primary works of important women writers in the English Language. IUP's collection includes: Austin, Baillie, Behn, Bluestocking Feminism, Bronte, Eliot, and Mary Shelley to name a few.

Twentieth Century African-American Poetry

A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu Amiri Baraka, Audre Lorde and Rita Dove. Uses the Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey interface.

Twentieth Century English Poetry

A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W.B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Thomas Hardy, Wilfred Owen, Thom Gunn, Fleur Adcock, Paul Muldoon, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and more. Uses the Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey interface

Twentieth Century North American Drama

This edition of Twentieth Century North American Drama contains 1,122 plays by 170 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. More than 150 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors.The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of scholars and the playwrights themselves.