Skip to main content

Literature Resources: Biographical Resources

A guide to IUP's resources for the study of English and American Literature

Biographical Resources

American National Biography

The landmark American National Biography offers portraits of more than 17,400 men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the nation. Originally Published in 24 volumes in 1999. Uses the Proquest interface. 

Biography in Context

A comprehensive database of biographical information on nearly 220,000 people from throughout history, around the world, and across all disciplines and subject areas. 

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres. Comprised of the award-winning Dictionary of Literary Biography series, which over its 30-year history has been dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, DLB Complete Online includes the DLB main series, the DLB Documentary Series, and the DLB Yearbook Series - all delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. Online volumes begin in 2009 . Previous issues are available in print in the Reference Collection on the main floor of Stapleton Library.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

Allows you to explore the lives of 50,000 people who have shaped the British past over the last 2,400 years - from the Greek explorer Pytheas to Princess Diana, and from the founding fathers of America to the Nawabs of Bengal. 

Something About the Author Online

Something About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people. It includes both the main series and Something About the Author Autobiography Series v.200, 2009 to present.Previous issues are available in print in the Reference Collection on the main floor of Stapleton Library. Uses a Web interface.