Skip to main content

Literature Resources: Historical Collections Online

A guide to IUP's resources for the study of English and American Literature

Historical Collections Online

Books

Early American Fiction 1789-1875

Early American Fiction includes the full texts of the first editions of American novels and short stories written before 1850 by authors of significance during their lifetimes. Uses the Proquest/Chadwyck-Healey interface.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

Early English Books Online (EEBO) is a digital library of works from the STC I (Pollard & Redgrave), STC II (Wing), and Thomason Tracts bibliographies currently comprising almost 100,000 individual titles for the period 1473-1700.

Periodicals

Accessible Archives

Accessible Archives was founded in 1990 with the goal of utilizing computer technology to make available vast quantities of archived historical information, previously furnished only on microfilm.

American Periodicals Series Online

This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Uses the Proquest interface.

British Periodicals Online I

British Periodicals traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian 'age of periodicals' and beyond. On completion this unique digital archive will consist of almost 500 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forming an unrivalled record of more than two centuries of British history and culture. Currently IUP subscribes to Collection I only which consists of more than 160 journals that comprise the UMI microfilm collection Early British Periodicals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences. Uses the ProQuest interface.

JSTOR

Online archives of over 500 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title.

Nineteenth Century Masterfile: Series I

Series I is the flagship of Nineteenth Century Masterfile including core periodical indices spanning nearly all the periodicals of the late eighteenth century through the early twentieth century.

Project MUSE

Provides full-text online scholarly journals from academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

Readers' Guide Retrospective

Wilson's Readers' Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.[1890-1982] Uses the EBSCOhost interface.