Get Help
You can contact the library reference desk by telephone most day and early evening hours during regular semesters at 724-357-3006. Text us a question at 724-401-1984 or ask us a question through our email reference service Ask A Question Link.
IUP Libraries Discovery Search
IUP Libraries Discovery Search allows you to search many library databases at once. Click here to access I-Search
Accessing IUP Libraries Databases from Off-Campus
Using Single Signon
IUP Libraries subscribe to our databases from vendors who require us to limit access to IUP users only. If you attempt to access databases from on-campus, they recognize your connection with the University. If you try to access databases from home, you will probably be directed to a login screen (unless you have the VPN set up). To log into databases you can use your single-signon information, the same way you log into MyIUP or D2L.
Using the Virtual Private Network
The virtual private network (VPN) uses the Internet to provide remote offices or individual users with secure access to the university’s network. Users can use all databases remotely, even those that say On Campus Only. Click here for directions to set up VPN.
Interlibrary Loan
Getting Started
When you only have one semester to do a paper like this, it is a good idea to pick a topic to write about that has already been the subject of a secondary works. You want to have as much time as possible to read relevant sources and not spend the bulk of your time looking for sources. A quality secondary study will provide you with the basic facts and lead you to the best known primary sources.
Locate and review quality secondary sources that include information on the topic.
Get the facts. Knowing Who, What, When and Why will provide you with the information you will need as the basis of your paper. Once you have command of the basic facts, will be in a better position to provide your own interpretation of the facts.
Examine the footnotes and bibliography of the quality secondary source. See what primary sources exist and that you might be able to find for your research.
Use the basic facts to help you find primary sources not mentioned in the studies. Search under the names of imporant actors, look for government reports on the incident, police investigations, court trials and newspapers from the time and place.
Library Catalog
Search IUP Libraries online catalog at this link for books, eBooks, government publications, and other materials available through IUP Libraries collections.
Sample Subject Headings
Anti-Catholicism in literature.
Anti-Catholicism United States History 19th century.
Catholics in literature. Catholicism United States.
Catholic Church United States History 19th century.
Catholic Church Relations Protestant churches.
Catholic hospitals United States Administration History 19th century.
Catholics United States.
Irish Americans Legal status, laws, etc. History 19th century.
Monasticism and religious orders for women United States History 19th century.
Slavery and the church Catholic Church.
IUP Libraries Electronic Journal Collection
Check IUP Libraries' holdings for electronic journal content here.
Primary Sources
Historians rely upond primary sources to do historical research. Due to the increased in digital library projects, eEvery day more and more primary source material becomes available on the Internet, either through IUP Library databases or freely accessible digital projects. Try the following for primary source material:
- ProQuest Databases - choose from a variety of databases of newspaper and periodical content.
- Access Newspaper Archive - search local newspapers including the Indiana Gazette
Other sources
Government Information / Outreach Librarian
Library Databases for Secondary Literature
JSTOR Search content of 500 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title.
America: HIstory and Life - search a comprehensive index of literature relating to American history and culture from pre-history to the present with some links to full-text.
Worldcat- search this database which includes all records cataloged by participating member libraries. Included are records for materials in many formats including books, journals, maps, newspaper, and manuscripts,