Skip to main content

Marketing: Company & Industry Research

This subject guides highlights resources, such as books, videos, journals, databases and links to Marketing resources.

Company Information Databases

Statistics for Specific Industries

For information on the standards used to classify industries and businesses, visit the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS Codes) website.

Provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; similar occupations.

Agriculture

Covers the economics of food, farming, natural resources and rural America.

Provides long-run baseline projections for the agricultural sector through 2005 that incorporate provisions of the Federal Agriculture Improvement and Reform Act of 1996 (1996 Farm Act).

Provides timely, accurate and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture from the National Agricultural Statistics Service.

Banking

Offers information collected by the Federal Reserve Board.

Provides information from the National Credit Union Association.

Enables you to search for information on specific banks, their branches and the industry.

Provides a comprehensive summary of financial results for all institutions insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC). This report card on industry status and performance includes written analyses, graphs and statistical tables.

Details financial information as well as structural data (number of institutions and branches) for all FDIC-insured institutions in a quarterly publication.

Energy

Includes forecasts and analyses, renewable and alternative fuels, as well as state and U.S. historical data overviews.

Presents an assessment by the Energy Information Administration (EIA) of the outlook for international energy markets through 2030.

Provides many statistics for mineral commodity and revenue.

Provides calculations for asset valuation for coal, gas and oil.

Environment

Provides current emissions trends data and documentation from the National Emissions Inventory (NEI) under the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Offers a one-stop-shop for all environmental facts.

Gives complete guide created to protect public health and environment from pollutants present in biosolids (sewage sludge).

Lists maps and charts provided by the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS).

Health and Safety

Provides information resources to public health professionals and the public at large from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) .

Offers data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

Supplies inspections data and statistics in occupational safety and health administration from the U.S. Department of Labor.

Gives information collected annually on the rate/ number of injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries in the workplace, and compares statistics by incident, industry, geography, occupation and other characteristics.

Housing

Shares statistics on the need for housing programs and initiatives, as well as helps determine the current economic indicators based on the housing market. This site uses current rental and home owner vacancy rates and descriptions of the available properties to obtain statistics.

Provides data sets that include collections from the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as other housing topics.

Offers data about building permits, housing start-up projects and housing completions.

Supplies data about annual housing sales.

Transportation

Provides reports on accidents, passengers, cargo, safety, funding and many other topics in aviation.

Reports statistics compiled by the Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) in coordination with the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT).

Details annual federal highway statistics divided into categories such as driver, vehicle, fuel and more.

Provides information from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

Follows the transit industry and provides statistics to help in future investments and opportunities.

Via www.sba.gov

Additional Industry Information Sources

  • County Business Patterns provides the number of businesses, employment counts and payroll by industry, size and geography, which can help you judge the density of businesses in an area and get a sense of the prevailing pay rate.

  • Economic Census data provides detailed statistics about businesses such as sales, receipts, value of shipments, revenue, inventory and expenses, broken down by industry and geography.

  • Survey of Business Owners details characteristics of business owners by industry, gender, race, ethnicity and veteran status, and can be distilled to the city and county level.

SIC and NAICS Codes

When searching industry information, it is often helpful to have the SIC or NAICS codes for your industry. SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) and NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) are standard numbering systems for identifying the industry affiliation of individual companies.  The heirarchical structure of both numbering systems allows for searching broad industry groups as well as specific industry segments. While the SIC system is still widely in use, it is being gradually replaced by NAICS. 

Printed code lists are found in the books Standard Industrial Classification Manual (call number [REF] HF1041.U613) and North American Industry Classfication System: United States, 2007 (call number [REF] HF 1042.N67 2007), available in the Reference Collection on the 1st floor of Stapleton Library. 

Look up NAICS Codes: http://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/

View SIC codes: https://www.osha.gov/pls/imis/sic_manual.html

Public vs. Private

When searching for company information, one of the first things you should do is determine if the company is Public or Private.  Public companies (i.e. companies that issue stock that is publicly traded in the various stock exchanges) are required to make certain information available to potential investors.   As a result, it is usually easier to locate information (particularly financial information) about public companies.  Private companies (wholly-owned by individuals or families or have stock that is closely-held by a small number of investors) do not have the reporting requirements of public companies.  Consequently, finding or verifying information (particularly financial information) is much more difficult for these types of companies.

You should also determine if the company you are researching is an independent company or a subsidiary of another parent company.  Information on subsidiaries is often incorporated into the parent company and not reported separately.

One printed source to help determine if a company is public or private is LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations (formerly Directory of Corporate Affiliations) - Call Number [REF] HG 4057.A217 - kept at the Reference Desk in Stapleton Library.   The directory also lists subsidiary and parent companies.