Skip to main content

Marketing: Market Research

This subject guides highlights resources, such as books, videos, journals, databases and links to Marketing resources.

General Business Statistics

Provides the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Information includes definition of each industry and background material.

Offers a full range of official statistical information produced by more than 100 agencies. Site provides data and trend information on topics such as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.

Presents an authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political and economic conditions in the United States. Note: The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.

Features a collection of data files created from U.S. Census County Business Patterns, an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry.

Via https://www.sba.gov

Statistics for Specific Industries

For information on the standards used to classify industries and businesses, visit the North American Industry Classification System (NAICS Codes) website.

Provides information on what workers do; the work environment; education, training, and other qualifications; pay; the job outlook; similar occupations.

Agriculture

Covers the economics of food, farming, natural resources and rural America.

Provides long-run baseline projections for the agricultural sector through 2005 that incorporate provisions of the Federal Agriculture Improvement and Reform Act of 1996 (1996 Farm Act).

Provides timely, accurate and useful statistics in service to U.S. agriculture from the National Agricultural Statistics Service.

Banking

Offers information collected by the Federal Reserve Board.

Provides information from the National Credit Union Association.

Enables you to search for information on specific banks, their branches and the industry.

Provides a comprehensive summary of financial results for all institutions insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC). This report card on industry status and performance includes written analyses, graphs and statistical tables.

Details financial information as well as structural data (number of institutions and branches) for all FDIC-insured institutions in a quarterly publication.

Energy

Includes forecasts and analyses, renewable and alternative fuels, as well as state and U.S. historical data overviews.

Presents an assessment by the Energy Information Administration (EIA) of the outlook for international energy markets through 2030.

Provides many statistics for mineral commodity and revenue.

Provides calculations for asset valuation for coal, gas and oil.

Environment

Provides current emissions trends data and documentation from the National Emissions Inventory (NEI) under the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)

Offers a one-stop-shop for all environmental facts.

Gives complete guide created to protect public health and environment from pollutants present in biosolids (sewage sludge).

Lists maps and charts provided by the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS).

Health and Safety

Provides information resources to public health professionals and the public at large from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) .

Offers data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

Supplies inspections data and statistics in occupational safety and health administration from the U.S. Department of Labor.

Gives information collected annually on the rate/ number of injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries in the workplace, and compares statistics by incident, industry, geography, occupation and other characteristics.

Housing

Shares statistics on the need for housing programs and initiatives, as well as helps determine the current economic indicators based on the housing market. This site uses current rental and home owner vacancy rates and descriptions of the available properties to obtain statistics.

Provides data sets that include collections from the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as other housing topics.

Offers data about building permits, housing start-up projects and housing completions.

Supplies data about annual housing sales.

Transportation

Provides reports on accidents, passengers, cargo, safety, funding and many other topics in aviation.

Reports statistics compiled by the Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) in coordination with the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT).

Details annual federal highway statistics divided into categories such as driver, vehicle, fuel and more.

Provides information from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).

Follows the transit industry and provides statistics to help in future investments and opportunities.

Via www.sba.gov

Demographics

American FactFinder

  • Provides access to a wealth of population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

State and County Quick Facts

  • Provides frequently requested Census Bureau information at the national, state, county and city levels.

Current Population Statistics

  • Shares information gathered in a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS).

Labor Demographics

  • Makes data that has been collected by BLS available for specific demographic categories including sex, age, race and ethnic origin.

Social Security Fact Sheets for Demographic Groups

  • Offers fact sheets for all demographic groups including women and young people.

U.S. Census Bureau Quick Facts

  • Gives access to facts about people, business and geography.

Via www.sba.gov

American Time Use Survey

Consumer Statistics

  • Consumer Expenditure Survey

    How Americans spend their money by tracking expenditures on food, housing, transportation, education, pensions, healthcare, etc. Look under Announcements or Latest CE News Releases for the latest report.  

  • Consumer Credit Data

Provides consumer credit data provided by the Federal Reserve Statistical Release.

Discloses consumer fraud and identity theft complaints received by the Federal Trade Commission, and U.S. and Canadian federal, state and non-governmental organizations.

Reports statistics related to children's products, child poisonings, carbon monoxide poisonings and other products.

Lists indexes offered by the Bureau of Labor Statistics that measure different aspects of inflation.

Via www.sba.gov

Advertising Expenditures

The Internet Advertising Bureau sponsors the Internet Advertising Revenue Report, which is conducted independently by the New Media Group of PriceWaterhouseCoopers. The full report is issued twice yearly for full and half-year data, and top-line quarterly figures are issued for the first and third quarters. The report provides key data in the area of internet advertising and includes measurement of internet/online advertising revenues compiled directly from information supplied by companies selling advertising online. The report includes data reflecting online advertising revenues from web sites, commercial online services, email providers, as well as other companies selling online advertising.