Skip to main content

Services at IUP Libraries: Accessing Library Resources Off Campus

Learn about the departments and services available at the IUP Libraries that are available to students, faculty, staff, community members, and academic researchers.

Using the VPN

The virtual private network provides users with secure access to the university's network in order to access resources such as a project directory and library resources that are limited to the IUP network.

For an visual explanation of how to connect a computer using the Windows 8.1 operating system to the VPN, visit the instructions from IUP's IT Support Center Virtual Private Network instruction site.

You must first be connected to the Internet before creating a VPN connection.

Steps to Connecting to the Virtual Private Network with a Windows 8.1 Operating System

  1. Access the Windows Charms Bar by moving the mouse cursor to the upper or lower right corner of the screen.
  2. Select Settings.
  3. On the settings menu, select Change PC settings at the very bottom.
  4. From the PC settings menu, select Network.
  5. Select Add a VPN connection.
  6. Complete the fields as follows:
    • VPN Provider: Microsoft
    • Connection name: IUP VPN
    • Server name or address: vpn.iup.edu
    • Type of sign-in info: User name and password
    • User name (optional): iupmsd\username (enter your own username)
    • Password (optional): your current network password (case sensitive)
    • Leave the "remember my sign-in info" box checked.
  7. Select Save.
  8. The new IUP VPN connection will now display.
  9. Press the Windows Key and the letter x (on the keyboard) at the same time.
  10. Select Network Connections.
  11. Right click  on the IUP VPN connection.
  12. Select Properties.
  13. Select the Security tab.
  14. Select the Allow these protocols button.
  15. Verify that the Microsoft CHAP Version 2 box has a checkmark.  If not, click in the box.
  16. Select the Networking tab.
  17. Click once on Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) to select it.
  18. Select Properties.
  19. Select the Advanced button.
  20. Uncheck the Use default gateway on remote network option.
  21. Select OK.
  22. Select OK.
  23. Select OK.
  24. Access the Windows Charms Bar by moving the mouse cursor to the upper or lower right corner of the screen.
  25. Select Settings.
  26. Select Network.
  27. Select IUP VPN.
  28. Select Connect.

Instructions for how to connect to IUP's Virtual Private Network (VPN) are courtesy of the IUP IT Support Center.

The virtual private network provides users with secure access to the university's network in order to access resources such as a project directory and library resources that are limited to the IUP network.

For an visual explanation of how to connect a computer using the Windows 8 operating system to the VPN, visit the instructions from IUP's IT Support Center Virtual Private Network instruction site.

You must first be connected to the internet before you can create the VPN connection.

Steps to Connecting to the Virtual Private Network with a Windows 8 Operating System

  1. Access the Search Menu from the Windows 8 Charms Bar by moving the mouse cursor to the upper right corner of the screen until the Charms Bar appears.  Then select Search.
  2. Click Settings.
  3. Type VPN in the Search Box.
  4. In the Search Results, click Set up a virtual private network (VPN) connection.
  5. Type in the Internet address to connect to and the Destination name.
    • Internet address: vpn.iup.edu
    • Destination name: IUP VPN
  6. ​​Leave the Remember my credentials box checked.
  7. Click Create.  Then a Networks window should appear.
  8. On the Network window, right click on the IUP VPN connection.
  9. Then choose View Connection Properties.
  10. Click the Security tab.
  11. Click the Allow these protocols button.  Do not click ok yet.
  12. Next, click the Networking tab.
  13. Click once on Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) to highlight it.
  14. Click Properties.
  15. Click the Advanced... button.
  16. Uncheck Use default gateway on remote network.
  17. Click Ok 3 times until you are back at the Desktop.
  18. Access the Settings Menu from the Windows 8 Charms Bar by moving the mouse cursor to the upper right corner of the screen until the Charms bar appears, then select Settings.
  19. Then select Available.  Note:  This may also say "Network", or the name of your WiFi connection, or something similar.  You will want to click the button in the left corner of this area regardless of the name.
  20. Click IUP VPN.
  21. Click Connect.
  22. Enter your IUP credentials as follows:
    • User name: iupmsd\your user name (type in your IUP user name following the \)
    • Password: your current IUP network password
  23. Click OK.
  24. Once your creditials have been verified, you will see the IUP VPN Connected status.  You are now connected to the IUP VPN.

If you see the following error message - please repeat Steps 8 - 17:  Error 942:  The connection could not be established because the authentication method used by your connection profile is not permitted for use by an access policy configured on the RAS/VPN server.  Specifically, this could be due to configuration differences between the authentication method selected on the RAS/VPN server and the access policy configured for it.

 

Instructions for how to connect to IUP's Virtual Private Network (VPN) are courtesy of the IUP IT Support Center.

The virtual private network provides users with secure access to the university's network in order to access resources such as a project directory and library resources that are limited to the IUP network.

For an visual explanation of how to connect a computer using the Windows 7 operating system to the VPN, visit the instructions from IUP's IT Support Center Virtual Private Network instruction site.

You must first be connected to the internet before you can create the VPN connection.

Steps to Connecting to the Virtual Private Network with a Windows 7 Operating System

  1. Click Start.
  2. Click Control Panel.
  3. Click Network and Internet.
  4. Click Network and Sharing Center.
  5. Click Set up a new connection or network.
  6. On the "Choose a connection or network screen," click Connect to a workplace.
  7. Click Next.
  8. Click Use my Internet connection (VPN).
  9. Type the Internet address to connect to and Destination name.
    • Internet address: vpn.iup.edu
    • Destination name: IUP VPN
    • Click Dont connect now; just set it up so I can connect later.
    • Click Next.
  10. ​Enter your IUP network username, password, and domain (IUPMSD).  You have the option to check Remember this password.
  11. Click Create.
  12. Click Close.
  13. Click Change adapter settings.  IUP VPN should now be listed.
  14. Right click IUP VPN then click Properties.
  15. Click the Networking tab.
  16. Click Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) then click Properties.
  17. Click the Advanced button.
  18. Uncheck Use default gateway on remote network.
  19. Click Ok three times.
  20. Right click IUP VPN.
  21. Click Connect to test the settings.  The VPN setup is now complete.

 

Instructions for how to connect to IUP's Virtual Private Network (VPN) are courtesy of the IUP IT Support Center.

The virtual private network provides users with secure access to the university's network in order to access resources such as a project directory and library resources that are limited to the IUP network.

For an visual explanation of how to connect a computer using the Mac OS X operating system to the VPN, visit the instructions from IUP's IT Support Center Virtual Private Network instruction site.

You must first be connected to the internet before you can create the VPN connection.

Steps to Connecting to the Virtual Private Network with a Mac OS X Operating System

  1. From the Apple menu, choose System Preferences.
  2. Choose Network.
  3. Click the Add button (+).
  4. Enter the following in the interface dialog box:
    • Interface: VPN
    • VPN Type: PPTP
    • Service Name: IUP VPN
  5. Click Create.
  6. Click on the drop down menu for Configuration and select Add Configuration.
  7. For the name, enter VPN (PPTP) Server  and click Create.
  8. Enter the following to configure the VPN connection:
    • Server Address: vpn.iup.edu
    • Account name: iupmsd\your user name (enter your IUP user name after the \)
    • Encryption: Automatic (128 bit or 40 bit)
    • Select Show VPN status in menu bar.
  9. Click Authentication Settings and enter your network password.
  10. Click OK, then click Apply.
  11. Click Connect and your Mac should now be connected to the IUP VPN.

 

Instructions for how to connect to IUP's Virtual Private Network (VPN) are courtesy of the IUP IT Support Center.

The virtual private network provides users with secure access to the university's network in order to access resources such as a project directory and library resources that are limited to the IUP network.

If you are experiencing problems reaching a library database using the VPN from an off-site location, you may need to change the default gateway settings on your VPN. 

If you will use the same library database frequently, you can set up a second VPN connection (name it “Library VPN”) with the appropriate settings, rather than changing the setting each time you need to use it.

Special VPN Settings for Library Database Access: Setting up the Default Gateway Option

  • When you start your VPN (login screen), there should be a properties button at the bottom. Please click that.
  • Click on the Networking tab at the top of the screen.
  • The Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) line should be highlighted (selected). Please click the Properties tab.
  • Please click the Advanced Button.
  • Check the  Use default gateway on remote network
    • Click OK
    • Click OK
    • Click Ok
    • Click Ok

Now, when you connect and go to databases when you are using your computer off-campus, you should appear to be on-campus to the network.

Loading