Skip to main content

Distance Learning Library Services: More about Finding Articles

This guide is intended to help students who are taking classes at a regional campus and/or online to more easily access library resources and services.

Articles from the IUP Libraries

Articles in magazines and journals are great sources of information when working on research papers and projects.  The information below will help you learn to use the IUP Libraries' website to find the articles you need and how to get access to the materials as a distance learner.

Use I-Search to Find Articles

The video below will demonstrate how to find articles using the Libraries' Discovery Search.

Article Databases

You can also use an article database to find articles.

A great database to try first is called Academic Search Complete.  You can use it to find articles on a wide range of topics.

You can also try searching in a subject-specific database.  Many of the databases IUP Libraries' subscribe to contain articles on one or two subject areas.  For example, there is a database for psychology articles, another database for business articles, and another database for nursing articles.  All of the databases available to IUP students can be found on the Databases page.  

Library Databases List Screenshot

 

 

 

 


Use the Select a Topic drop down menu
at the top of the page to find databases on specific subjects.

For more help finding out which database is best for your assignment or area of research, use the Libraries Research Guides, ask your professor, or ask a librarian.

Finding the Article Full-Text

When using the databases to find articles, you'll usually have 1 of 3 options for getting to the full-text of an article.  These options are:

  1. PDF Full-Text - This means that the full-text of the article is available right in the database you're working in and is just one click away.  Click on the PDF Full-Text link and the article will open.
     
  2. Check 360 Link - This means that the full text of the article is not available in the database in which you're working, but it is available from another source.  This method will take a few clicks, but you will eventually get to a page where you can click on a PDF link for the full text.
     
  3. Request through Inter-Library Loan - This means that IUP does not own a copy of this article, but we can get it for you from another university.  This service is free of charge, but can take a few days.  The article will be electronically delivered to you as a PDF file.

In order to access IUP Libraries' resources from off-campus, you'll need to log in using your IUP username and password.  When you click on, for example, a database or e-book link, you will be taken to the KLN PASS page.  Click on the IUP logo.

Choose your institution

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sign in with your IUP username and password (just like you would to access MyIUP).

Learn About ILLiad

ILL (Inter-Library Loan) means that IUP does not own the article you want, but we can get it for you quickly and for free. 

ILLiad logon screen

 This is especially useful for distance learners, because the articles are delivered electronically as PDF files.  

The service IUP uses to process ILL requests is called ILLiad.  First time users will need to create an ILLiad account.

 

 

After creating the account, use the links in the database like the example below, or go directly to ILLiad to request items we do not own.