Skip to main content

Distance Learning Library Services: More about Finding Books

This guide is intended to help students who are taking classes at a regional campus and/or online to more easily access library resources and services.

Books from the IUP Libraries

Use the IUP Library to find books to complete research assignments, borrow textbooks instead of buying, and even enjoy some leisure reading.  IUP Libraries is commited to providing distance learners with access to our print and electronic book collection.  The tools listed below will provide access to these materials.

Search for E-Books at IUP

As a distance learner, the easiest way to use books from IUP is through the libraries' e-book collection.  The video below will show you how to find e-books in the IUP collection.

Remember, when accessing e-books from off-campus, you will need to sign in with your IUP username and password.

Finding More E-Books

IUP subscribes to several e-book services.  Our E-Book Collections page provides links to collections of academic and reference E-books.

Off-Campus Access to E-Resources

In order to access IUP Libraries' resources from off-campus, you'll need to log in using your IUP username and password.  When you click on, for example, a database or e-book link, you will be taken to the KLN PASS page.  Click on the IUP logo.

Choose your institution

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sign in with your IUP username and password (just like you would to access MyIUP).

Search for Print books at IUP

The IUP Libraries' are also committed to providing distance learners with methods for accessing the print materials in our collection.  The video below will show you how to search for print books in the IUP collection.

Book delivery for Distance Learners

Finding Books Where You Live

There are several ways you can use the libraries closest to you to find the books you need.

1. As an IUP student, you can borrow books from other libraries in the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education and the State Library in Harrisburg using your ICard.  If you live near one of these libraries, this could be a great option for you.

2. Worldcat.org provides free online searching of library collections throughout the world.  By searching WorldCat for the books you need, you'll discover if any libraries close to you, public or academic, own the materials.  

3. While your local public library may not have the books you need in their collection, the librarians and staff there can help you request the book from another library using a process called Inter-Library Loan.  The book will then be delivered to you at your local library for you to pick up and use.