Skip to main content

Library Research in Foreign Languages: ASIA 281 Language, Cognition and Culture in East Asia

These Library Guides will help you use IUP Libraries' resources in the Foreign Languages on-campus as well as at a distance.

Assignment

1. Comparison of functions of curse words in Korean, Japanese and Chinese (function AND swearwords)
2. Comparison of loan words in Chinese and Korean
3. Comparison of two Chinese dialects
4. Comparison of emoticons of Chinese, Japanese and Korean
5. Comparison of proverbs/sayings in Chinese, Japanese and Korean

Suggested Databases

Academic Onefile

--Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Uses the GALE InfoTrac interface. 
LC Classification: AC

Academic Search Complete

Designed specifically for academic institutions, ASC is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses the EBSCOhost interface. 
LC Classification: AC

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1

The Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 presents a digital collection of historical content pertaining to U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture. Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project from which the collections draws its content, is the largest national project ever to locate, preserve and disseminate Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form since colonial times until 1960. Created under the direction of Dr. Nicolas Kanellos, founder and director of Arte Publico Press, the oldest and largest publisher of U.S. Hispanic literature in the U.S., the collection accurately conveys the creative life of U.S. Hispanics, and sheds new light on the intellectual vigor and traditional values that have characterized Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country's history through contemporary times. Uses the EBSCOHost interface. 
LC Classification: E184.C34, E184.M5, E184.S75

Ethnic NewsWatch + ENW, A History

News, culture and History from 240+ publications of ethnic, minority and native presses. Designed to provide the "other side of the story", the full-text titles included offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. 
LC Classification: D, E, F, GN 
★Licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

JSTOR Off Campus Link

Online archives of over 500 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title. Follow this link to IUP JSTOR Journal Collections.

Currently we subscribe to the entire JSTOR archive: all five Arts & Sciences Collections, the Health & General Sciences Collection, the Biological Sciences Collection, and the Business II Collection. 
LC Classification: AC 
★Some content licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts New ProQuest Interface

Database of interest to both generalists and specialists in keeping abreast of cutting-edge developments in disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language. The database covers all aspects of the study of language. Uses the ProQuest interface. 
LC Classification: P 
★Some content licensed with Student Technology Fee Funds

MLA Directory of Periodicals

The MLA Directory of Periodicals, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, lists over 3,700 periodicals in the areas of literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography. Uses the EBSCO interface. 
LC Classification: GR, P

MLA International Bibliography

Index produced by the Modern Language Association consisting of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. It provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series. Uses the Proquest interface. 
LC Classification: GR, P

Coordinator of Online Information Literacy Design Center (OILDC) and Distance Education Librarian

Chris Clouser's picture
Chris Clouser
Contact:
Stapleton Library 102B
724-357-5697