Skip to main content

Health and Wellness Resources: Home

A guide to selected Internet resources, library databases, and print and audiovisual sources on health and wellness.

Introduction

This is a selective guide to Web sites, library databases, and library print and audiovisual sources about health, wellness, and related topics. Click on the tabs at the top of this Guide to link to library databases and information about new books and audiovisual materials. Scroll down on this page to find links to information from the National Institutes of Health, the Mayo Clinic, WebMD, and more.  You can find additional information by consulting our online catalog, PILOT, and by clicking the "Article Databases" link on the library's homepage. 

Drug Abuse and HIV

National Institutes of Health, Mayo Clinic, WebMD, etc.

The following are links to some Web sites for information on health and wellness topics:

National Institutes of Health, Health Information  Provides links to information on clinical trials, men's and women's health, seniors' health, child and teen health, as well as, links to information on body systems, diseases, procedures, nutrition, and lifestyle.  It also provides links to health newsletters and health databases, and additional sources of information.

Healthfinder   Healthfinder.gov has resources on a wide range of health topics selected from over 1,600 government and non-profit organizations to bring the user the best, most reliable health information on the InternetHealthfinder.gov is an information and referral service only, and does not diagnose medical conditions, offer medical advice, or endorse specific products or services. Also, healthfinder.gov does not control the content of the Internet sites or organizations listed.

Mayo Clinic    The Health Information link in the Mayo Clinic website provides links to authoritative, up-to-date information on diseases and conditions, symptoms, drugs and supplements, tests and procedures, healthy lifestyles, first aid, and more.  Information for Medical Professionals includes resources such as clinical news links, email newsletters, education programs, research, etc.

MedlinePlus   MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it offers information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easily understood language.  MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information for free.  MedlinePlus can be used to learn about the latest treatments, look up information on a drug or supplement, find out the meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on a health topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or condition.

National Institutes of Health, Heath Information  Provides links to information on clinical trials, men's and women's health, senior's health, child and teen health, as well as, links to information on body systems, diseases, procedures, nutrition, and lifestyle.  It also provides links to health newsletters and health databases, and additional sources of information.

NHIC (National Health Information Center)  A health information referral service that puts health professionals and consumers who have health questions in touch with those organizations that are best able to provide answers.  Established in 1979 by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

NIH Publications List    You can search for any National Institutes of Health publication by using one or more search fields. If you enter the publication title, or part of it, this tool will search the records and return information for the volume you seek. If you get too many results, you can narrow your search by specifying other criteria such as name of the institute or center, or the year of publication, for example.  The web site also provides information about how to order publications.

WebMD  The popular, comprehensive website offers information organized as Health A-Z, drugs & supplements, healthy living, eating & diet, parenting & pregnancy, teen health, pet health.  Much of the information is aimed at self-help--you can watch videos that help you diagnose health problems or improve your lifestyle.  You can also learn about new treatments for common disorders, subscribe to the WebMD magazine and newsletter for tips on diet and treating illness, or find suggestions for improving health habits.    

Subject Guide

Guide Creator

Guide originally created by Patricia Johner.

Evaluating Health Web Sites

 

 

MedlinePlus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing   An outline of tips for evaluating the quality of health information on Web sites. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and National Institutes of Health.

Finding Reliable Health Information Online  A Web site from the Human Genome Research Institute that defines and explains the different kinds of scientific literature--review articles, basic science or laboratory research, case reports, and articles discussing treatments.

How To Evaluate Health Information on the Internet  Twelve questions and answers aimed at helping you make informed decisions about the quality of health information you find on the Web.