Skip to main content

Library Database Resources for Journalism: Home

A selective guide to library research databases for journalism, communication, and mass media.

Instructional Tools

Films on Demand

Films On Demand is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Includes more than 5,500 educational titles in dozens of subject areas. Films On Demand can deliver high-quality digital video ideal for students and faculty through online catalogs, distance learning courses and learning management systems. Uses a Web interface.


EBSCOhost Video Tutorial

A narrated Mural video tutorial that teaches students to use the EBSCOhost interface to search EBSCO databases.




Databases for Communication and Media Scholarship

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Provides research coverage of topics related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.

CMMC offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 620 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 820 titles. This database includes full text for over 500 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).

In addition, CMMC features over 5,400 Author Profiles, providing biographical data and bibliographic information, and covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched-for authors in the database. To further develop and enhance this database, EBSCO has established two working groups of expert advisors represented by leading librarians, bibliographers and professionals in the areas of communication and mass media.  EBSCOhost interface. 


Communication Institute for Online Scholarship (CIOS)

The Communication Institute for Online Scholarship is a not-for-profit organization supporting the use of computer technologies in the service of communication scholarship and education.


Communication Studies: A Sage Full-Text Collection

Includes the full-text of 19 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some beginning publication 23 years ago, encompassing more than 5,000 articles.  It covers such subjects as journalism, public opinion, political communication, mass communication, interpersonal communication, cultural studies/intercultural communication, television/film studies, media studies, business communication, organizational/management communications, written communication, rhetoric, and literacy studies.  Consists of indexed summaries and abstracts as well as the complete text of each journal article.  Every record in the Collection links to full-text in PDF format.  Uses the CSA interface.


Humanities Full-Text [H. W. Wilson]

Includes some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous lesser-known but important specialized magazines in the humanities, with indexing from 1983 forward and full-text starting in 1995.  Uses the EBSCOhost interface.




Subject Guide

Guide Creator

LibGuide created by Patricia Johner