Skip to main content

IUP Libraries Microforms: Home

This guide will give a description of the Microform Collections housed on the basement floor of Stapleton Library. Often underappreciated and sometimes misunderstood, this format can sometimes offer some information treasures.

Collection

One of the advantages of Microfilm is its value as a preservation tool.  Under the proper storage conditions Microfilm has a life expectancy of up to 500 years.

Microform How-To

IUP Microforms

 

 

This guide is written as a quick memory aid in the use of various microform sets at IUP.  The Library has a huge collection of microforms in various formats – microfilm (35mm and 16mm), microfiche (3x5 and 4x6), microcard (3x5 and 7x10) and ultra-microfiche (3x5 and 4x6) – and this guide is not intended to be comprehensive.  Many items are detailed in the online catalog and can be retrieved with a single call number or periodical reference.  Some sets, however, require additional information (e.g. a reel number, reference number, etc.) to retrieve and this guide lists where to find that information.  If reference librarians make sure that users have the additional information prior to requesting retrieval, it will save time and effort for the microforms department staff and the patron.

By Blaine Knupp- Reference Coordinator, IUP Libraries

Microform Collection

 

 

Abstracts on Crime & Deliquency (Microfilm)

Retrieval is by abstract number.  The index to the abstracts is found with the call number [INDEX]HV6025.M524a.  The microfilm is shelved by title as a general microfilm periodical.

 

American Literary Annuals and Gift Books (Microfilm) 090 T37a

Retrieval is by reel and number.  Individual items are detailed in the microforms card catalog.

 

American Periodical Series - I, II, & III (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number. Individual titles are listed in the old serials printouts with beginning and ending reel numbers. A guidebook with the detailed reel numbers can be found at the microforms desk or the Serials Desk.  The entire collection is now online, as the American Periodical Series Online.

 

American Statistics Index (4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval requires a year and document number.  These can be found in the printed ASI volumes in Reference ([REF] Z7554.U5 A46) or through the Statistical Universe database.

 

Baynton, Wharton, and Morgan Papers (Microfilm) 338.973 B344bg

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

British Sessional Papers (Microcard) 328.4204 G798

Retrieval is by year and volume number.  The indexes are also on microcard with the call number 328.4204 G798a.

 

Catalog of Selected Documents in Psychology (4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval is by “MS” number.  These numbers can be found in the printed indexes with the call number [INDEX]BF1.C33.  The documents are filed with the regular 4x6 microfiche periodicals under the title, Catalog of Selected Documents in Psychology.

 

Census – Manuscript Census (Microfilm) 312 Un3f

Retrieval requires a year and county.  The library owns the decennial census reports from 1810 to 1930 (with exception of 1890 – originals destroyed in a fire) for Indiana County.  There are also reels for a few other counties.  Check the online catalog for specifics. We have the entire state of Pennsylvania for 1860.  An index to the 1860 census reports is in Special Collections.  Indexes for additional years can be found through a database available from the State Library of Pennsylvania.

 

Columbia University Oral History Program (4x6 Microfiche) 973.9 C723c

Retrieval is initially by Part Number.  In Part 1, items are filed alphabetically by the name of the person.  In Parts 2 and 3, items are filed by a sequence number.  Individual items are detailed in the online catalog or the microforms card catalog.

 

Committee on Fair Employment Practice. Selected Documents (Microfilm) 331.63 Un3s

Retrieval is by roll number.  Index is included on the microfilm as rolls 1-Ind and 2-Ind.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Congressional Hearings (4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval is by Congress, session, Senate or House, volume and number.  Access is through printed indexes:  Index of Congressional Committee Hearings (prior to Jan. 3, 1935) [REF]KF40.H34 1971, supplement [REF]KF40.T46, shelflist [REF]KF40.U49, Cumulative Index of Congressional Hearings, 1935-1958 [REF]KF40.H8 1973, and shelflist [REF]KF40.U5

 

Congressional Information Service (4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval requires a year and document number.  These can be found in the printed CIS volumes in Reference ([REF] Z7553.C34  U638 1986) or through the Congressional Universe database.

 

Contemporary Newspapers of the North American Indian (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number. Individual titles are listed in the old serials printouts with beginning and ending reel numbers. A guidebook with the detailed reel numbers can be found at the microforms desk.

 

Corpus of American Lutheranism (Microfilm) 284.173 C817c

Retrieval is by reel number.  Individual titles are detailed in the microform card catalog.

 

Current National Statistical Compendia (4x6 Microfiche) 310 C936u

            Retrieval is by fiche number.  A guidebook can be found at the Micro Desk.

 

Early American Imprints (Microcard)

Retrieval requires an “Evans” or “Shaw/Shoemaker” accession number.  Imprints prior to 1800 are detailed in Charles Evans’ 13-volume American Bibliography ([REF] Z1215 .E923) or Roger Bristol’s 1-volume supplement ([REF] Z1215 .E92334).  Imprints from 1800 to 1819 are found in Ralph Shaw and Richard Shoemaker’s multi-volume work ([REF] Z1215 .S48).

 

Early American Periodicals Index to 1850 (Microcard)

This item is an index itself.  A WPA project, the set reproduces about 650,000 hand-written or hand-typed cards indexing about 340 American magazines published roughly from 1730 to 1860.  It is divided into six sections: General Prose, Fiction, poetry, Book Reviews, Songs and Subjects.  It can be used with the American Periodical Series I and II.

 

Early British Periodicals (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number. Individual titles are listed in the old serials printouts with beginning and ending reel numbers. A guidebook with the detailed reel numbers can be found at the microforms desk.

 

Early British Periodicals – Creative (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number. Individual titles are listed in the old serials printouts with beginning and ending reel numbers. A guidebook with the detailed reel numbers can be found at the microforms desk.

 

Early English Books (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number.  There are two sets of Early English Books.  Imprints from 1475 to 1640 (820.8 En36p) are detailed in Pollard & Redgrave’s Short Title Catalog… ([REF]Z2002.P77 1956) and imprints from 1641-1700 (820.8 En36w) are listed in Wing’s Short Title Catalog… ([REF]Z202.W5).  Reel numbers can also be found in the notes of individual records in the online catalog.  In the series note, the number before the colon is the reel number and the number after it is the position on the reel.  The entire full text collection is also available online in the Early English Books Online [EEBO] database.

 

Eighteenth Century Sources for the Study of English Literature and Culture (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number. A guidebook listing the contents of each reel is at the microforms desk.   Set has the call number 820.806 Ei44g.  There are records for some individual titles in the microforms card catalog and the individual reel numbers are noted.

 

English Literary Periodicals (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number. Individual titles are listed in the old serials printouts with beginning and ending reel numbers. A guidebook with the detailed reel numbers can be found at the microforms desk.

 

ERIC – Educational Resource Information Center (4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval requires an “ED” (Educational Document) number.  These numbers can be found in the printed Resources in Education abstract service ([INDEX]LB1028.E24) or through the ERIC database.  Documents from 1993 to date can also be found in the ERIC Web Portal database.

 

General Records of the American Commission to Negotiate Peace, 1918-1931 (Microfilm)

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

            940.3141 P281g

 

German Army High Command : 1938-1945 (Microfilm) 940.541343 G317g

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Gerritsen Collection of Women’s History (Microfilm & 4x6 Microfiche)

This collection is divided into four parts – books, both on microfilm and microfiche and serials, also on microfilm and microfiche.  To retrieve, the user must specify if the item is a book or a serial, if it is microfilm or microfiche and the have the reference number from the printed guidebook ([REF]HQ1121.G43).  The microfilm and microfiche books are separately filed, both with the call number 305.4 G321e.  The serials on microfiche are filed with the general serial titles.  The microfilm serials are filed with the microfilm serial sets (e.g. American Periodical Series).

 

Hakluyt Soceity Publications (3x5 Microfiche)  910.8 H12ws2

Retrieval is by Series and Number.  Individual items are detailed in the microforms card catalog.

 

Hansard Parliamentary Debates (Microcard)  328.4202 G798

Retrieval is by series, year and volume.  Indexes are includes with the volumes.  Series 1-4 have the call number above.  Series 5 is divided into House of Lords (328.4202 G798h) and House of Commons (328.4202 G798h).  Paper copies of Series 5 are also available in print with the call number J301.K22.

 

Herstory Collection (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number. Individual titles are listed in the old serials printouts with beginning and ending reel numbers. A guidebook with the detailed reel numbers can be found at the microforms desk.

 

History of Photography Collection (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number. Individual titles are listed in the old serials printouts with beginning and ending reel numbers. A guidebook with the detailed reel numbers can be found at the microforms desk.

 

HRAF – Human Relations Area Files (Microfiche – hybrid)

Retrieval is by a combination of “Culture Number” and “Cultural Material Number” and, occasionally, a “Source Number”.  The Culture Number can be found in Murdock’s Outline of World Cultures [REF]D16.25 B44 v.3 and the “Cultural Material Number can be found in the Outline of Cultural Materials [REF]D16.25 B44 v.1.   If the user finds a microforms card catalog record for a full book in the HRAF collection, the Culture Number and Source Number will be noted.  To get the full text, retrieve Cultural Material Number category 116 (followed by the Source Number) for that Culture Number.  IUP owns microforms for the cultures noted with an asterisk in the Murdock book.  Although most of the HRAF micro collection is in 3x5 microfiche (or clips of 35mm film attached to 3x5 cards), there is a small collection of 4x6 microfiche.  The retriever should be made aware that this extra set exists.  HRAF is now available online as the eHRAF Collection of Ethnography.

 

Jeffersonian Americana (3x5 Microfiche) 973 J359e

Retrieval is alphabetically by author.  This set is a selection of early American books detailed in Joseph Sabin’s Bibliotheca Americana ([REF]Z1201.S22 1961).  The complete list of titles can be found on pages 165-191 of An Index to Microform Collections, edited by Ann Niles ([REF]Z1033.M5 I53 1984).

 

Kraus Curriculum Development Collection (4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval is by year and reference number.  Reference numbers are found in the indexes which are housed next to the fiche cabinets.  Collection is now available online as the Kraus Curriculum Development Library.

 

Labor Union Constitutions & Proceedings (Microfilm)

Retrieval is by part, reel and item number.  Individual titles are included in the microforms card catalog and the location information is noted on each card set.

 

Landmarks of Science (Microcard)

Retrieval is alphabetically by author/title.  Individual entries are included in the online catalog.

 

LAC – Library of American Civilization (Ultra-microfiche)

Retrieval is by LAC number.  Individual titles are listed in the online catalog and the LAC number is included in the notes.  A four-volume guide to the microbook collection can be found at [REF]Z1236.L5 1971.

 

LEL – Library of English Literature (Ultra-microfiche)

Retrieval is by LEL number.  Individual titles are included in the microforms card catalog and the LEL number is noted on the card.  A two-volume guide to the microbook collection can be found at [REF]Z2011.L73.

 

Linguistic Atlas of the Gulf States (Microfiche) 427.976 L647i

Retrieval is by fiche number.  The main volumes are in Reference with the call number [REF] PE2970.G85 L56 1986.  An introduction and guide is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Manhattan Project : Official History and Documents (Microfilm) 623.45119 M314a

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

McCone Commission Reports (Microfilm)  323.1196 C128t

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Morris Hillquit Papers (Microfilm) 335.0973 H559m

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

New York Times/Columbia University Oral History Program  -- See Columbia University

 

Newsbank (4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval requires Newsbank section, year and article reference number.  Newsbank was a newspaper article clipping service and  was divided into sections such as Consumer Affairs, Education, Names in the News, Transportation, etc.  Printed indexes to the individual sections are housed in the Index/Abstract area and are cataloged separately.  User needs to know the section, the year of the index and the article reference number.  The reference number is made up of the specific card number followed by a colon and a row and column designation for finding the individual article on the specific microfiche.

 

Nursing Collection (4x6 Microfiche) 610.73 N9383u

Retrieval is alphabetically by author.  Individual items are detailed in the microforms card catalog or in the online catalog.  Printed lists of titles are available at the Micro Desk.

 

O.S.S./State Department Intelligence and Research Reports (Microfilm) 909.082 Un3fg

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Oil : The Federal Investigations (Microfilm) 338.27282 Oi53t

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Papers of Albert Gallatin (Microfilm) 320.92 G135p

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Papers of Carlos Montezuma, M.D. (Microfilm) 970.2 M765p

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Papers of John L. Lewis (Microfilm) 331.88 L586j

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Papers of the Society of American Indians (Microfilm) 970.1 So13p

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Presidential Papers (Microfilm)

Retrieval is generally by date or item number.   Below, each set of papers is identified by its call number and the call number of the printed index of papers.

            Arthur, Chester A                   973.8 Ar77p                [REF]E692.Z9 U55

            Cleveland, Grover                   973.87 C599p             [REF]Z6616.C6 U5

            Coolidge, Calvin                     973.915 C777p           [REF]Z6616.C78 U5

            Grant, Ulysses S.                    973.82 G767pa           [REF]Z6616.G76 U5

            Harrison, Benjamin                 973.86 H245p             [REF]Z6616.H28 U5

            Harrison, William H.               973.58 H248p             [REF]Z9387.97.U5

            Jackson, Andrew                    973.56 J132pa             [REF]Z8443.U53

            Johnson, Andrew                    973.81 J63p                 [REF]Z8455.567.U5

            Lincoln, Abraham                   973.7 L63pa                [REF]Z8505.U53

            McKinley, William                  973.88 M215p             [REF]Z6616.M18 U5

            Madison, James                       973.51 M265p             [REF]Z8540.U53

            Monroe, James                        973.54 M757p            [REF]E176.1.A2 M6

            Pierce, Franklin                       973.66 P611p              [REF]Z8689.9.U5

            Taylor, Zachary                       973.63 T219p              [REF]Z6616.T28 U5

            Tyler, John                              973.58 T971p

            Van Buren, Martin                  973.41 W277p              [REF]Z6616.V33 U5

            Washington, George               973.41 W277p              [REF]Z8950.U65

 

Reform of Local Government Structures in the United States : 1945-1971

            (4x6 Microfiche) 352.073 R259e

            Retrieval is by document number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

SEC File (Annual Reports and other financial documents)  (4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval is by year and card number.  Reference also includes a notation for location on the card.  Index is at the Micro Desk.

 

Story of the Office of Censorship (Microfilm) 353.00751 H629s

Retrieval is by reel number.  Guidebook is available at the Micro Desk.

 

Tests in Microfiche (4x6 Microfiche) 371.26 T289e

Retrieval is by test number which can be found in the printed catalogs ([REF]LB3051.T44).

 

Three Centuries of Drama (Microcard)

Retrieval is generally alphabetically within subset.  Subsets are: English 1500-1641, English 1642-1700, English 1701-1750, English 1751-1800, and American.  Titles are detailed in Bergquists’ Three Centuries of English and American Plays ([REF]Z2014.D7 B45).

 

Underground Newspaper Collection (Microfilm)

Retrieval requires a reel number. Individual titles are listed in the old serials printouts with beginning and ending reel numbers. A guidebook with the detailed reel numbers can be found at the microforms desk

 

United Nations Publications (Microcard and 4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval is by UN Document Number.  These numbers can be found in the United Nations Documents Index (UNDOC or UNDEX) [INDEX] JX1997.U19, Index to Proceedings of the Economic and Social Council [INDEX] JX1977.I5, Index to Proceedings of the General Assembly [INDEX] JX1977.A44, Index to Proceedings of the Security Council [INDEX] JX1977.A5 and Index to Proceedings of the Trusteeship Council [INDEX] JX4021.I38.  The Library does not own a complete set of documents.

 

United States Government Publications 1956-1975 (Microcard)

Retrieval requires specification of “Depository” or “Non-Depository”, catalog year and catalog number.  The index to this set is the Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications [INDEX]J83.A18.  Depository items are indicated by a black dot in the Monthly Catalog.  Non-Depository items lack the black dot.

 

United States Government Publications (4x6 Microfiche)

Retrieval is by SuDoc number.  IUP only owns microfiche supplied by the depository program, not all available microfiche.  This set is primarily publications since 1975.

 

United States Government Serials Set (Microcard)

Retrieval is by volume and number.  Finding aids include Tables of and Annotated Index to the Congressional Series of U.S. Public Documents (LAC 10555 – covers most of the documents from 1817-1893) and Catalogue of the Public Documents….([REF]Z1223.A13.  There are also indexes within the set for various volume series.

 

Victorian Fiction Collection & Other Nineteenth Century Fiction (Microfilm) 823.8 N622n

Retrieval requires a roll and item number.  Individual titles are list in the microforms card catalog and the reel and item are noted on the card.  This set is not included in the online catalog.  A guidebook can be found at the Micro Desk

 

Wright American Fiction (Microfilm) 813 W93am

Retrieval requires a volume and reel number.  Individual titles are included in the online catalog and contain the specific reel number in the notes field.  The collection is based on Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction volumes – 1774-1850 ([REF]Z1231.F4 W9b), 1851-1875 ([REF]Z1231.F4 W92), and 1876-1900 ([REF]Z1231.F4 W93).