LibGuides: Geoscience Resources: Databases

Useful Databases

Most of the resources you'll use in your classes, research, and projects will be peer-reviewed, scientific articles. You'll find those in our library databases.

Some of our databases cover many different disciplines, while others focus on just one or two related areas. Click the links below to jump directly to some very useful geoscience- and geography-related databases, or visit the A-Z Database Page to look at the whole list.

GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Geography, Geoscience, Environmental Science, Regional Planning
Provider: Elsevier. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Links to full-text.
Content: Articles and citations.
GEOBASE covers 3,050,046 abstract records of multidisciplinary content
enabling comprehensive geological evaluation of any desired region.
This includes geological structure and relation to natural resources as well as
linking resource management, transport, and regional and urban planning.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Environmental Science, Ecology, Geoscience, Geography, Oceanography
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Limited full-text.
Content: Articles and citations.
GeoRef is a comprehensive geosciences database containing over 2.6 million bibliographic records to the geoscience literature of the world.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
Biology, Entomology, Environmental Science, Geoscience, Microbiology, Science.
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly. Full-text.
Content: Articles and citations.
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) and Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) alongside content from a variety of scholarly journals are searchable in this database.
Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Animal Science, Biology, Biotechnology, Botany and Plant Science, Ecology, Entomology, Marine Science, Microbiology, Science, Zoology
Provider: ProQuest. Coverage: Scholarly. Full-text.
Content: Articles and citations.
As a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content of global literature, the Environmental Science Database provides information for many specialties in the natural sciences.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Ecology, Environmental Science,
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Links to full-text. 1888-current.
Content: Articles and citations,
Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Botany and Plant Science, Ecology, Environmental Science, Geography, Safety Science
Provider: EBSCO. Coverage: Scholarly. Full-text.
Content: Articles.
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
Science Database This link opens in a new window
All Sciences, Biology, Botany and Plant Science, Chemistry, Ecology, Geoscience, Physiology
Provider: ProQuest. Coverage: Scholarly/peer-reviewed. Full-text.
Content: Articles, abstracts, images.
With a large and growing set of ongoing full text from publishers such as Nature Publishing Group, Springer, Cambridge University Press, the ProQuest Science Database supports the needs of students studying applied and general sciences.

ProQuest Science Database is a growing resource of 7.3 million full text articles from over 1,600 sources. In full-text format, researchers have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature.