Skip to main content

Library Tools for Research Success: Home

Ask Us Anything

.

We are here to help you!

Call us @ 724-357-3006

Text us a question @ (724) 401-1984

Schedule a Reference Consultation 

Find a Subject Specialist 

Bibliographic Research Tools

There are many internet tools that can help you collect bibliographic information, store sources and notes, help you organize them, and  assist you in citing bibliographic items correctly. Some of the most useful and popular follow.

Presentation Outline

Searching Databases Not Accessible through I-Search

The I-Search Discovery tool searches multiple library databases, but not all. To find and search other databases, do the the Library Databases page at http://libs0400.acadlib.iup.edu/databases/subject/. It [provides an alphabetical list of all databases which can be searched by keyword and subject category.

Turnitin Plagiarism Awareness Tool

Turnitin is a Web-based plagiarism detection service which reviews submitted material for originality of content. Instructors or students can submit electronic versions of text to Turnitin to generate an “originality report.” This report marks text so that unoriginal content appears underlined, color-coded, and linked to its original source.

Library Introduction Videos

The Online Information Literacy Design Center presents library tutorials to help you navigate the essential tasks of library research. You can watch all five videos in the playlist above, or select a video from the list below to watch it on the Library's YouTube channel:

Subject Guide