Information on Government Agencies and Congressional Activities
Core documents of the United States - These documents represent the very backbone of the United States government and its authority to govern.
United States Government Manual- Information on the structure and activities of the federal government. When in the Stapleton Library, stop at the Reference Desk if you wish to view the paper version.
Congressional Directory - As its name implies, the Congressional Directory is the source for information on members of Congress. Ask at the Reference Desk for the most recent copy.
House of Representatives Web page
Senate Web page
Congressional Record - Proceedings of debates and daily digest of the United States House and Senate.
Congressional Quarterly's Washington Information Directory - Contains information on the structure and activities of the federal government as well as government-related organizations. Available in a print version at the Reference Desk at Stapleton Library or on campus at Washington Information Directory
US Citizenship and Immigration Services - U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) is the federal agency that oversees lawful immigration to the United States. USCIS is a component of the Department of Homeland Security.
US Census Bureau Voting and Registration - Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics.
Google UncleSam - Any searches run will be limited to producing only relevant government websites and pages.
American Memory - American Memory is a multimedia web site of digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress’s vast holdings.
E-Resources Focusing on Government
The following databases are of particular relevance to finding information on citizenship and the American Constitution.
- Academic Universe (LEXIS/NEXIS)
- Congressional Universe
- CQ Electronic Library ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN
- CQ Weekly ON-CAMPUS ONLY or VPN
- Government Catalog
- Military and Government Collection
Monographic (Books) Sources
American constitutionalism : from theory to politics - KF4550 .G74 1996
The United States Constitution : roots, rights, and responsibilities - KF4550.A2 U55 1992
Constitutionalism in America; origin and evolution of its fundamental ideas - JK31 .S82
Contemporary American federalism : the growth of national power - JK325 .Z56 2008
A companion to the United States Constitution and its amendments [electronic resource] - This is an e-book. Copy and paste the following phrase "A companion to the United States Constitution and its amendments" then go to PILOT, paste the phrase and then Search by Keyword Ranked Search. A results list will appear, make the appropriate selection and the e-book's full bibliographic record will appear. Scroll down and click on the phrase " An electronic book accessible through the World Wide Web." The book will then open. Only one viewer at a time may view the books so you may have to make more than one attempt at opening the book.
Databases Available to IUP Students and Faculty
The Library's book collection includes works that offer comprehensive treatments of historical topics. Use PILOT, our online catalog to find books in our collection as well as links to the full-text of electronic reserve items and other valuable information on the Internet.
- To search for books in the online catalogs of other Pennsylvania libraries, and to borrow from them directly, search PALCI (log in using your 16-digit I-card number.)
- To search for essays contained in book chapters search Essay and General Literature. Essays located may not be held in our collections, but should be available through Interlibrary Loan.
- Center for Research Libraries houses materials rarely held in U.S. libraries. Holdings are available for long term loan to IUP patrons. Topic guides are available to assist your research. Items not in our collection can be borrowed online through Interlibrary Loan.
- Worldcat-search the OCLC Database of paper and electronic titles
General Online Sources of Full-Text Scholarly and Popular Magazines
Scholarly and popular magazines and newspapers offer concise and timely treatment of many topics related to the Constitution and citizenship. IUP clients can access large collections of such information through the journal aggregators. (To gain access at home, use your 16 digit I-card number.)
- EBSCOhost--provides access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic access to thousands more
- Gale/Infotrac-provides access to the full-text of over one thousand periodicals and bibliographic access to thousands more.