Skip to main content

Women and Reform in Antebellum America: Home

This guide was designed to support research on women and reform in antebellum America. HIST 601. Spring 2013.

Ask a Librarian

Google Scholar

Google Books

Welcome to IUP Libraries

Welcome to IUP Libraries! This guide is intended to assist researchers who are looking for information related to the history of women and antebellum reform in the United States. Books are great ways to begin research in this area. Click on the following links to find information on locating books.

Library Databases for Primary Sources

Women and Social Movements A resource for students and scholars of U.S. history and U.S. women's history. Organized around the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1700 and 2000, the website seeks to advance scholarly debates and understanding.

American Periodicals Series Online This unique and valuable collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Uses the Proquest interface.

Secondary Periodical Literature Library Databases

America: History & Life A complete bibliographic reference to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Coverage includes selected historical journals from major countries, state and local history journals, and other critical materials. Uses the EBSCOHost interface.

JSTOROff Campus Link  Online archives of over 500 journals in African-American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Ecology, Economics, Education, Finance, History, Literature, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, Population Studies, Sociology, and Statistics. JSTOR is designed specifically for archiving journals, so it does not include the most recent 2-5 years of each title 

 Academic Search Complete Designed specifically for academic institutions, ASC is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. Uses the EBSCOhost interface.

Project MUSE Provides full-text online scholarly journals from academic presses covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others.

 

Subject Guide

Citation Style Guides and Tools