Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A General Topic
|Information you need to find
||Sources you should use
|What they do in the world of theater
||Books, Periodical Articles
||Books, Periodical Articles
Stage Lives by
Call Number: [REF] Z5781 .S78 1985
Publication Date: 1985-02-14
Product information not available.
Who Was Who in the Theatre by
Call Number: [REF] PN2597 .W52
Publication Date: 1978-12-01
Critical Survey of Drama, English Language Series by
Call Number: [REF] PR623 .C75 1985
Publication Date: 1985-08-01
The Oxford Companion to American Theatre by
Call Number: [REF] PN2220 .B6 2004
Publication Date: 2004-05-06
First published in 1984, Gerald Bordman's Oxford Companion to American Theatre is the standard one-volume source on our national theatre. Critics have hailed its "wealth of authoritative information" (Back Stage), its "fascinating picture of the volatile American stage" (The Guardian), and its "well-chosen, illuminating facts" (Newsday). Now thoroughly revised, this distinguished volume once again provides an up-to-date guide to the American stage from its beginnings to the present. Completely updated by theater professor Thomas Hischak, the volume includes playwrights, plays, actors, directors, producers, songwriters, famous playhouses, dramatic movements, and much more. The book covers not only classic works (such as Death of a Salesman) but also many commercially successful plays (such as Getting Gertie's Garter), plus entries on foreign figures that have influenced our dramatic development (from Shakespeare to Beckett and Pinter). New entries include recent plays such as Angels in America and Six Degrees of Separation, performers such as Eric Bogosian and Bill Irwin, playwrights like David Henry Hwang and Wendy Wasserstein, and relevant developments and issues including AIDS in American theatre, theatrical producing by Disney, and the rise in solo performance. Accessible and authoritative, this valuable A-Z reference is ideal not only for students and scholars of theater, but everyone with a passion for the stage.
The Great Stage Directors by
Call Number: [REF] PN2205 .L44 1994
Publication Date: 1994-07-01
"What is the common perception of a stage director? A dictator and tyrant? An aloof impresario? A self-indulgent artist? An enigmatic choreographer of words and movement? A skillful diplomat negotiating the egos and whims of producers, playwrights, and actors? The guiding force in a collaborative endeavor? In fact, the stage director is all these things and more, one who labors to present his or her dream to the world by deploying a unique ensemble of stage professionals. The great stage director is one who creates a legacy of inspirational theatrical productions." "Stage directors come from a variety of backgrounds and employ diverse working methods. Henry Irving began his career as an actor; Martha Clarke was an acrobatic dancer; Guthrie McClintic worked as an assistant stage manager; George Bernard Shaw was a critic and playwright; and Orson Welles, a child prodigy, co-edited three of Shakespeare's plays shortly after he was graduated from high school. Some directors attempt to imbue a "creative state" in their actors (e.g., Konstantin Stanislavsky), some dictate every movement and inflection (e.g., Richard Foreman), and others try to find the "magic point" in a production (e.g., Ingmar Bergman) to achieve their ends. But all great stage directors have the following in common: a glowing vision of the theater's possibilities; a unique temperament or persona; and an innovative, highly influential technique." "The Great Stage Directors is one of the few comprehensive overviews of this complex artistic craft, from early masters such as David Garrick and Johann Wolfgang von Goethe to contemporary talents such as Elizabeth LeCompte and Harold Prince. Each of its detailed entries contains a brief biography, a thorough career summary, accounts of major productions, and an investigation into the working methods, stage personality, and overall influence on the theatrical world of the director under discussion. The book is international in scope and covers directors of farces, classic dramas, absurdist and avant-garde pieces, musicals, and much more." "An essential purchase for theater collections, The Great Stage Directors also contains extensive further readings and 90 photographs of both historic productions and many directors themselves."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Continuum Companion to Twentieth Century Theatre by
Call Number: [REF] PN2035 .C65 2002
Publication Date: 2004-11-01
This work details practical topics such as directing, acting, design, lighting, sound, voice, wig and prop-making, to historical surveys raging from black theatre to gay and lesbian theatre; from pantomime, experimental theatre, theatre-in-the-round to architecture, funding, drag and circus.
Notable Women in the American Theatre by
Call Number: [REF] PN2285 .N65 1989
Publication Date: 1989-12-06
This reference book has entries for some 300 women in American theater, ranging from actors, directors, choreographers, playwrights, and designers, to critics, agents, and managers, and should provide focus for future scholars of women's studies and theater. . . . . The volume will prove valuable to scholars and the curious. "Library Journal" The current and thoughtful treatment of this book will be valuable for academic and large public libraries, especially those that support research in women's studies, theater, American studies, and biography. "Booklist" From Mrs. Lewis Hallam, the first known professional actress in America to outstanding women of the present era, this biographical dictionary alphabetically examines some 300 notable women who had distinguished careers in the American theatre. Not simply a list of names and activities, the volume--to the extent possible--narrates and evaluates the women's lives and accomplishments providing not only relevant biographical information and bibliographical materials but also describing the women's professional contributions. In representing the careers of theatre artists from actors, directors, and designers, to choreographers, managers, playwrights, educators, critics, variety performers, and agents, this first reference of its kind devoted exclusively to women also serves as a unique survey of the history of American theatre. "Notable Women in the American Theatre" documents the widespread activities of women in the American theatre. As many of them functioned in more than one capacity, one of the two appendixes lists names in the various professional categories. Each entry describes the pertinent facts of biography and contains a descriptive narrative relating to the individual's career with a special notation of her distinguished role in the American theatre. A bibliography of the featured woman, including sources to be found in books, magazines, and newspapers, is also part of the alphabetical entry. To aid readers and researchers, 2 separate appendixes contain listings by place of birth and by profession and collate the interrelatedness of the careers of many of the women. Compiled primarily as a reference for college and university libraries, the volume would be a useful supplement to courses in women's studies, American studies, drama courses taught in English and theatre departments, courses in the history of the theatre, American history, and biography.
Information Literacy Librarian