LibGuides: JRNL 361 Presentation Making in PR (Papakie): Reference and News Sources

Reference Sources

Reference Sources are a great place to start your research. They are one of the best tools for learning quickly about your topic to help generate ideas, find out important facts, dates, and events, and discover keywords to use in other library databases.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference offers access to digital editions of 250 reference titles and links to IUP's online catalog and other useful databases.
CQ Electronic Library

CQ Electronic Library is an exceptional line of government, public policy and current awareness reference databases including: CQ Researcher, CQ Supreme Court Collection, CQ Weekly, and more.
Search or browse for resources on American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences.

Learn more about Reference Sources and Background Research

Begin Your Research with Credo
This 3-minute video will demonstrate Credo Reference.
How to Use Wikipedia
This 3-minute video teaches you how (and how not) to use Wikipedia for your research.
Background Research Tips
This self-paced tutorial will help you differentiate between background research and in-depth research, locate useful sources for conducting background research, and utilize background research to help you refine your paper topic.

News Sources

The Library subscribes to many news-focused databases.

Access NewspaperARCHIVE

Access NewspaperARCHIVE, the largest online historical newspaper database. You may search the full text of Pennsylvania newspapers from 1607 to present.
Canadian Newsstream

Over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers are searchable in this database.
Global Breaking Newswires

Global Breaking Newswires is an aggregated full-text news database with very timely access to the best newswire content available globally. Updated three times per day, it is a continually-growing archive of news content that may not be captured via traditional print sources or online sources.
Indiana Gazette

Access historical newspapers online including the Indiana Gazette and other Pennsylvania newspapers.
International Newsstream

The most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are included in the collection.
Newspaper Source

Provides selected full text articles from 143 US and international newspapers. This database is updated daily.
US Newsstream

US Newsstream enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s. For academic and public libraries, US Newsstream offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal.