Skip to main content

Resources to Support Academic Writing and Publication: Selecting a Publisher

Cabell’s Directory

Cabell’s Directory indicates whether the journal is peer reviewed, and provides acceptance rate, submission guidelines, submission process. Cabell Publishing, Inc. was founded in 1978, to help professors, graduate students and researchers publish their manuscripts. To achieve this goal, the company strives to maintain current information on the addresses, phone, e-mail and websites for a large number of journals. Also, the company seeks to provide information on publication guidelines and review information. Collections with access for IUP include Business, Education, Psychology and Nursing.

Scimago Journal & Country Rank

The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately. Country rankings may also be compared or analysed separately. Journals can be grouped by subject area (27 major thematic areas), subject category (313 specific subject categories) or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 21,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide. The SJCR allows you also to embed significative journal metrics into your web as a clickable image widget.

Ulrich's

Locate periodicals by subject and alphabetically. Ulrich's can tell you if a publication is peer reviewed or a new title.  

IUP Libraries does not own Ulrich's Web, however, the library does have Ulrich's in our non-circulating reference collection that faculty can refer to.

Genomics Journalseek

  • Genomics Journalseek http://journalseek.net/   the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet.  Journal information includes the description (aims and scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link (if available) , subject category and ISSN. Searching this information allows the rapid identification of potential journals to publish your research in, as well as allow you to find new journals of interest to your field.

JANE

JANE:
Journal / Author Name Estimator

For Health Science fields. 

Not sure where to submit your newly written article? Enter the title, abstract, or keywords in the textbox and click
--Find journals
--Find authors
--Find articles

JANE will compare your text to documents in Medline and offer suggestions.

Websites

Search the websites of large academic publishers such as:

Web of Science

Search by Publication Name in Web of Science. Click on the name of the journal (highlighted in yellow) to view journal informaiton. 

Based on Impact Factor (IF) data, the Journal Citation Reports published by Thomson Reuters provides yearly rankings of science and social science journals, in the subject categories relevant for the journal (in fact, there may be more than one).

Quartile rankings are therefore derived for each journal in each of its subject categories according to which quartile of the IF distribution the journal occupies for that subject category. Q1 denotes the top 25% of the IF distribution, Q2 for middle-high position (between top 50% and top 25%), Q3 middle-low position (top 75% to top 50%), and Q4 the lowest position (bottom 25% of the IF distribution).